We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family visit”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

visited the Victoria for dinner whilst staying in Whitby with family, Never thought I'd say the place could get any better,having stayed at the Victoria on three occasions with friends and always had a fantastic stay each time, decided to take our family along for dinner one eve the meal was outstanding, my son ordered the steak and said it was the best he'd ever had everyone was delighted with their meal, both my Husband and I only felt the longing to book another weekend away at this truly beautiful hotel, staff as always very polite and obliging. will definitely be booking soon

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Seated 10 of us at short notice but table provided far too small. Service slow and chaotic but waitress lovely and helpful, food very good when we got it, but the wine included in the steak meals (sauvignon blanc) was undrinkable and left on the table. When I commented on it, while paying the bill, I was told, most curtly, by the young bar manager that 'no one else had complained'. All kinds of things can go wrong with wines for all kinds of reasons, or maybe it was simply bad wine, either way it rounded off an evening I'm in no hurry to repeat.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thankyou for choosing to review us.Firstly I would like to apologise about a former member of my staffs poor customer service when you raised a point about your wine with our very popular steak deal.This member of staff that was only on trial has shown poor customer service with 3 reviewers to my knowledge,thankfully he is no longer with us.Rest assured the rest of my staff are disgusted with this poor customer service and is by no means the rest of the hotels standards.We do hope you return soon to experience whole hearted hospitality and first class customer service.Thanks for taking time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was a pleasant surprise as the bar area is very traditional. We had a lovely view of the sea & Robin Hoods Bay. The room & ensuite had been refurbished & was very comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant, the menu had a good selection of food & the service was friendly & efficient. Breakfast was served to us in a marquee which was unbearably hot, although once pointed out to the management they did roll open the doors. The service at breakfast was very, very slow.

Room Tip: A sea view is fantastic. We also had a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having visited the Victoria hotel, on a previous article in a local paper, I was expecting a lovely experience.
The coffee shop was very small & thus we were squashed in the corner. The lady serving us was very dramatic & complaining about the amount if people, our drinks & food took a while but were pleasant. The view, which is a major selling point of this hotel was obstructed by a marque so we may as well of been staring at a brick wall. Just before leaving we went to use the toilets near to the bar & the smell of stale urine was overpowering & nauseating. The toilets were extremely unclean & ruined the whole experience. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msmith55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a lovely bar meal in the family room at the back. The kids meals were a great size and looked fresh and homemade rather than the microwaved rubbish you sometimes get for kids. My twins aged 6 loved the sausages and fish bits. My steak was delicious and I'd highly recommend the Stilton sauce. My husband loved his fish and chips. Highly recommend for a family meal

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FiMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well what can I say from the day we arrived until the day we left we felt so welcome and every day was outstanding.
On the day we arrived we were shown to our room which was beautiful and the décor was very, very nice.
The room was spotless not one spec of dust in sight :-)
From breakfast to the evening meal the service was just 100 % the owners of this hotel have employed really good and caring staff.
We had booked into the Wayfarer Bistro just up the road from the Victoria hotel on the second night of our stay when we arrived at the Wayfarer the gentlemen had booked us in on the wrong night so we could not eat there as they were fully booked so we went back to the Victoria hotel hoping they could fit us in when we arrived they were very busy but a lady called Katie said it was no problem she would fit us in it was no trouble and once again the service and the friendliness of the staff was outstanding.
To some this hotel up in a nutshell this place is AWESOME you must go and have a stay at this hotel.
We stayed in room 8 which had a beautiful view over the bay and the moors.
We will definitely be back and this time with our 2 children and have been advised room 4 would be perfect for us.
We cannot wait for our next stay at the Victoria hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very nice and has great views over the bay and the moors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Victoria was booked by the Coast to Coast walking trip organisers. At the end of 192 miles it is nice to have a warm welcome and a genuine concern as to whether all our luggage was accounted for.No delay and we were straight up to our rooms which were most comfortable and some had the most amazing views down into our final destination: Robin Hoods Bay. The showers were hot, the rooms were clean and we were booked for Dinner. After dropping the St Bees pebble in the North Sea and the customary photos had been taken, it was time to climb back up 'that' hill. The Dinner menu was varied but no surprise that there was alot of fresh fish. The starter of Sea Food Chowder was quite delicious and followed by fresh plaice on a bed of seaweed . We shared an Eton Mess. Our table by choice was in the marquee at the side of the hotel and we were able to see night drawing in over Ravenscar. The compressor in the bar overnight was a little disturbing but no real bother. Breakfast was excellent with a huge bowl of porridge and smoked mackeral with two poached eggs. Beautiful Toast and ever so friendly service from the staff. Parking at the back of the hotel was a bit of a lottery but I suspect that not all the parked cars belonged to hotel guests. As we left the gardener was sorting out a more comfortable chair for a visitor with a back problem - it said kev on his petrol can and he seemed to be caring of the garden and the clients. We had a great experience - I am sorry others appear to not have been so lucky.

Room Tip: Try not to get above the bar unless they turn off the compressor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyChappy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hello,

Thankyou for taking time to review us and Iam glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we fulfilled your expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.2 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,262 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £79 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Victoria Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing