We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
H. Golda
London, United Kingdom

Lovely experience, friendly staff

Review of Victoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2024
We ate in the restaurant as we have quite a few times. It’s a lovely old school venue. It’s very professional and well run. The staff are courteous and welcoming. The food is very well put together. I especially liked the liqueur coffees and hot chocolates. The view spectacular with an outdoor area. Perfect stop off on a cold, windy day.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Villa Guest House
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.4 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £45
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Victoria Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Victoria Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveller rating
819
305
84
37
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
819
305
84
37
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel tea room sunday lunch roll top bath fish and chips car park ate here an evening meal family room fantastic views lovely food well worth a visit couldn't do enough first class lovely room nothing is too much trouble
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024

The Victoria Hotel’s location is great, right on a cliff above the water. The view from the hotel is just beautiful! It’s also a quick walk away from the town of Robin Hoods Bay which is a cute little village and which is worth a visit. The hotel has quite a bit of charm and when you step through the doors it’s like being transported to another era. Our room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was clean as well. For those with mobility issues, it looked like most, maybe all, rooms are located on the first and second floors. I didn’t see ground level rooms and there is no elevator only stairs so just check before booking. While our bed was comfy, it was hard to sleep because of all the noise coming from the lounge area on the ground floor and the noise of people going up and down the stairs seemingly all night long. For reference, the grand staircase is in the middle of the hotel with the rooms around it. The hotel seemed understaffed. There was one bartender who seemed very frenzied when we sat out on the terrace in the evening to have a drink. He was obviously so frenzied that he spilled a try full of drinks on me, I was soaked and had to go to the room to dry off. After an incident like that I’d have thought he would NOT have charged us for the drinks but indeed he did. When I returned from drying off he saw me and didn’t even acknowledge me. That was very disappointing. When we were leaving the next day we noticed the broken glass from the spilled drinks was still on the floor! What a hazard for people especially small children. We advised the reception who said they’d take care of it, hopefully they did. How do you just leave all that broken glass there overnight? Sadly, food at the hotel was not great. We ate dinner there but the seafood didn’t seem fresh at all which surprised us as we were on the coast. We’d have done better to have eaten at a pub or pizza place in Robin Hoods Bay. Breakfast in the morning was fine, a typical breakfast but nothing special. This place has so much potential with the location and vistas. Perhaps one day they’ll take advantage and create an incredible travel destination but for now, it’s very lacking.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NO2VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2024

We just want to say that you’re hotel manager went above and beyond to help us we stayed here in February and had a great time but unfortunately i left my sunglasses behind we came back to stay in Whitby and went to the hotel to see if they had found them they had found them but then misplaced them the manager asked for our address in Whitby where we were staying he later phoned us to say that he had found them and was on his way to drop them off back to us so a massive thanks to him

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Under refurbishment during our stay which we weren’t advised about. I would have liked the opportunity to decide whether to defer my booking until renovations were complete or cancel it. Breakfast each morning to the sight and sound of builders outside and a strong smell of adhesive on our return to the room on an evening.
Out of season so local restaurants and pubs closed until later in the week. This meant that we ate each evening in the restaurant. Attentive, professional restaurant team and unusually a good vegetarian choice.
Room a little tired especially the bathroom. We had a room with balcony and there was a lot of noise from room above most nights.
We have stayed a number of times and this was probably the most disappointing

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lulupieNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

called in for a drink on Mothers day into the bar, we stood at the bar for a while, even though no one else was waiting, the very miserable bar man, i think he was in charge of the bar, did not acknowledge us at all, then we were just about to walk out, when he decided to serve us, we were meeting friends at this hotel, he was abrupt, totally felt like we were intruding, and he did not once make us feel welcome, even though in your bar says welcome, can i just say the waiting staff were very polite, but it was the main man behind the bar that was so awful, no customer service what so ever, also he came over and started to spray and clean tables, without asking it went all over my hat and gloves, we left at that point, as i have asthma and felt it was so uncalled for, we called our four other friends and told them not too meet at this place, we went somewhere else which we were made most welcome...such a shame, one man can make you feel awful...no excuse for bad customer service, he should not work frontline with customers. you lost out on 6 lots of meals and drinks.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JBG1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

Superb food, view and great staff.
We ate in the bar and in the restaurant and ate perfect meals every time. There are some interesting choices as well as staples and all were good value and presented beautifully.
The hotel is perfectly situated.
It's biggest asset is the amazing staff team. The people here remember you and take the time to make sure you enjoy your break. They love this hotel and are very proud of it's current upgrade works.
We were here for our anniversary weekend, as we had a tiny wedding here a year ago. If you are planning an event here, Beverley will listen to you and help you to have exactly the celebration you want, however large or small.
It's a little bit special, this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews