We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Birtley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birtley House
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

As we were walking past we thought it looked lovely so we knocked on the door and Mike made us immediately feel welcome. The room was at the top of the stairs with lovely windows you could open(a big plus) and very trendy decor with a big bathroom. Position was excellent, just a short walk down to the most quaint village on the water with lovely pubs. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of fresh fruit before a cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: We like to be high away from the road but it wasn't noisy anyway. The place dies down at dusk wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tastraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
119
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October. We have stayed here before and we are never disappointed. The rooms are beautifully furnished and well equipped. Breakfast is wonderful, expertly cooked by Connie. Mike is always welcoming and the perfect host. We cannot praise this B and B enough. It truly is, in our opinion, the best place to stay in Robin Hoods Bay. Wonderful scenic walks along the Cleveland Way to Whitby or Ravenscar. We will be going back! Thank you Mike and Connie! We will see you again soon.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a wonderful bay window and you can see the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was our second stay at this B&B. From the moment we got in we were made to feel welcome. The hosts, Mike and Connie, are friendly and welcoming. Our room was stunning. We like Birtley House so much we've already booked for next year

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mark1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A wonderful weekend in Robin Hood's Bay at Birtley House. We stayed in Room 6, a lovely room with comfortable chairs, a well-stocked hospitality tray and a bathroom with a bath and a walk-in shower. Connie cooks the most amazing breakfast, you won't need to eat for the rest of the day! Mike is welcoming, friendly and very obliging. This is a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable and a nice price. The breakfast was delicious run by a friendly couple. Close to local amenities, lovely views from the room. Nice patio area to sit and take in the scenery. Would definately go back again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crunchy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just made our 12th visit to Mike & Connie's fantastic B&B, which says it all really. We like the B&B's location, with its proximity to RHB, Whitby & the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, its cleanliness, its roominess & the generous proportions of the cooked (or, un-cooked, if you prefer) breakfast but most of all its friendliness - nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. We cannot fault it. In fact, we've already made a provisional booking for next year! All B&B's should be like this .... the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steelcityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed with Mike and Connie for the second time this year. As before, a lovely stay in a well appointed room and an excellent breakfast. Birtley House is a great place to stay if you're visiting Robin Hood's Bay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneblokesingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
799 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birtley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtley House

Property: Birtley House
Address: Birtley House Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Birtley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birtley House Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing