We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every possible way”
Review of Birtley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birtley House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for a short break at the end of Aug 2013. Birtley House is in an ideal location at the top of the village overlooking the bay itself. Hosts, mike and connie were very attentive and friendly without being overbearing. Room was spot on, on the second floor, spotlessly clean with a compact en suite with a lovely power shower. Next morning the breakfast was amazing, I have to say I don't think I've ever had better!!!! All in all a lovely place I can't recommend highly enough. Looking forward to a return visit, we will definitely be back, with a shadow of doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJH385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Birtley House for two nights (Fri/Sat).

The Guest house is at the top of the bay across from the car park and 2 doors up from the Victoria hotel.
Mike greeted us with a lovely warm, genuine welcome and showed us to our room (RM4)
which is at the front of the house on the 1st floor.

The room was very clean, well appointed, plenty of draws and hanging space, also a small fridge for keeping water nice and cold for the next days walk and ofcourse milk if your not keen on uht?

We had a great nights sleep with the window open and plenty of sea air, waking up feeling fresh and ready to go.

The en-suite is compact with a good power shower, just what you need in the morning to wake you up!

While we were there Mike and Connie were on hand if you needed them, not that we did.

Breakfast was first class, we're foodies and for us they got it spot on, The Full English consisted of, All the usual, sausage, bacon, eggs, beans, mushrooms, tomato, but also.....Wait for it.....













BLACK PUDDING AND FRIED BREAD!!!!!!

At last a Guest house that does do a FULL ENGLISH.

We enjoyed our stay a great deal and only living in York we're only an hour or so from the coast, so we will certainly be staying at Birtley House in the future.

Thanks to Mike and Connie for a lovely 2 nights stay at Robin Hoods Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Birtley house B+B on the 19-21st July 2013 with our two friends. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast set us all up for the day.
Mike and Connie were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. This was our first stay at Robin Hood bay but we will certainly return and stay at Birtley House and would recommend this B+B to our friends in the future.

P.S. Thanks for the car wash Mike!!!!!

Dave Gardner-Chorley Lancashire.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We decided to travel up to Scotland for a small break from Berkshire. For the first night we stopped of at Robin Hoods Bay and stayed at this B&B. Mike was welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was excellently fitted out with everything you could expect in a hotel room. Breakfast was large with the variety of a top hotel. A great touch was after my wife ordered chamomile tea for breakfast, several bags were placed in the room. Unfortunately for Scotland we stayed at Birtley house for the rest of the break. Even the weather held of for us for most of the time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just back from our third visit.
The rooms are excellently furnished with decor of the highest order. I've never had a better breakfast anywhere, anytime. Connie is great cook & Mike an excellent host, they go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. If you are looking for accommodation in Robin Hoods Bay look no further. In fact if you're visiting the east coast stay here. It's handy for all the major attractions Yorkshire has to offer. It's the finishing point for the Coast to Coast walk and on the Cleveland Way so there's great walking & cycling on the doorstep.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Great views of the bay from the bay windowed rooms on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grump-gmBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at Birtley House. We have stayed here before and we are never disappointed. Everything is perfect! Comfortable rooms with everything you need. Breakfast is excellent. Just cannot fault anything! If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Robin Hoods Bay you will not find better than Birtley House. Excellent stay. Thank you Connie and Mike. Just perfect. We look forward to staying with you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

As we were walking past we thought it looked lovely so we knocked on the door and Mike made us immediately feel welcome. The room was at the top of the stairs with lovely windows you could open(a big plus) and very trendy decor with a big bathroom. Position was excellent, just a short walk down to the most quaint village on the water with lovely pubs. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of fresh fruit before a cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: We like to be high away from the road but it wasn't noisy anyway. The place dies down at dusk wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tastraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
846 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
22 reviews
0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birtley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtley House

Address: Birtley House Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Birtley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birtley House Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing