We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birtley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birtley House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay overnight in Robin Hoods Bay while we were there and had not booked in advance. Many places were booked up but we managed to get in to Birtley House and we were so glad we got in here. The room was very nice and Mike and Connie are lovely people, plenty of choice for breakfast, we settled for the full English which was really nice. We would definitely stay again, lovely B&B in a lovely place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
112
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Birtley while celebrating the wedding of friends who got married at the Victoria Hotel next door but one. Mike and Connie were extremely friendly and accommodating from point of booking to wishing us farewell. We booked 3 rooms in total and 3 of us shared the family room on the top floor which was spacious, beautifully decorated and had a fabulous view. It was also well stocked with plenty of Yorkshire tea, hot chocolate, biscuits and bottled water! The bathroom was amazing with lovely fluffy towels. Breakfast was an excellent selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt as well as full English, pastries and tea and coffee. All 6 of us didn't hesitate to say we would return again. Excellent value for money, comfortable, well presented, lovely hosts with great attention to detail!

Room Tip: Top floor room 6 feels like it's own self - contained little apartment with generous proportions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in this wonderful B and B and couldn't have been happier. The hosts, Mike and Connie were very warm and welcoming and our room was very well appointed with a massive, comfortable bed. The choices for breakfast were many and varied and well presented. Mike helped us out in planning our days' outings which was much appreciated. Robin Hood's Bay is a fascinating place and if anyone is planning on visiting, Birtley House is just a short walk down a (very steep!) path to the old village. We thoroughly recommend Birtley House as a great place to stay, not only to see Robin Hood's Bay , but also as a base for visiting the North Yorkshire Moors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just returned from yet another delightful stay at this B & B. It has been our fifth stay and I would certainly recommend this place. The rooms are very well maintained and clean and the owners Mike & Connie are very polite and helpful, breakfast is very varied and a good choice. Hoping to go again mid September.

Room Tip: ROOM 3 OR 6 GOOD CHOICE good views and room 6 has separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I recently made a visit to Robin Hood’s bay for several days of hiking and sightseeing, and based on so many excellent reviews I decided to stay at the Birtley House. I had a great experience staying there – the B&B is very comfortable, modern and well kept, and Mike and Connie are very friendly and accommodating hosts. I was the only guest at the time of my visit (it was December and a major storm was sweeping in from the north), but each morning the breakfast was amazing and extensive. I’m already planning my next trip to Robin Hood’s Bay and wouldn’t consider staying anywhere other than the Birtley House.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeDory1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have used Trip Advisor now for several years and find it to be an indispensable part of my trip planning. Since I do use the site, I find it my duty to then to write reviews on where I have stayed and eaten and what I enjoy from my travel for others to use in their planning. Having been in the hospitality business for 25 years, I am sensitive to comments made by others in my business and always look to comments, if made, as an opportunity to correct errors or mistakes made by me and my staff. Most would do the same.


We had booked our room for a single night at the Birtley House 4 or 5 months before and had after lengthy emails, settled on an upgrade to have a room with a view of the town and the ocean. We had thought that after having walked the whole Coast to Coast path that a nicer room would be deserved!
Once booked I did not contact the B&B until I reconfirmed my reservation for one night as I always do a few days ahead of time.
As it turned out we had the opportunity to come a night earlier and called the day before and were told that we could be accommodated. We came into Robin Hood's Bay quite excited at having completed the Coast to Coast walk.

When showed to our room, I questioned the fact that it was not the room we had originally booked for one night, the one with a view. Our host told us that this was because we had come in a night earlier, which was a fair enough statement from him, as I would could not expect anything for that one night just booked 24 hours earlier. My question to him then was that we would therefore be able to move into the correct room, booked 4 or 5 months previously with a nice view overlooking the town and a view of the water on our second night.? We were told NO. I expressed displeasure at the situation and nothing more was said by either party.

A simple admittance of their error in assigning rooms, overbooking, etc. would have gone a long way to soothing the problem, but the lack of concern for the error on their part really spoiled the experience for us.

Mistakes happen but a little honesty on the part of the hosts would have gone a long way to diffusing our disappointment. We chose not to stay a second night, but to check out and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just back from our first stay at Birtley House after not being able to get into where we stayed on our previous visit to lovely Robin Hoods Bay - we couldnt have been made more welcome by Mike, and Connies breakfasts are just what is needed to start the day...room was spotless and great views over the moors and the top end of the village,,,,really cant wait to get back to this special place and the great hosts of Birtley House!!!!! Cant wait to visit this magical place again - thanks Kaz and Jon xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birtley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtley House

Property: Birtley House
Address: Birtley House Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Birtley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birtley House Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing