We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robin Hood's Bay”

The Bay Hotel and Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Robin Hood's Bay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great food, beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff. Altogether an enjoyable experience. Oh and the beer is good too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    191
    91
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give it a try”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely place to sit outside for a meal or drink. Really enjoyed having a meal here and best chips that we had in Robin Hood bay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu6320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quiet pint”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely setting overlooking the bay, real ale on tap, clean well kept outside sitting areas made for a lovely afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Uninspiring food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having walked down from the car park, we were in need of some sustenance but food service does not start till 6.30! We ordered some drinks, sat down and waited, and waited.... Eventually after standing at the bar for about quarter of an hour, I placed our order. The garlic and pepper chicken was bland (somehow I had imagined it would be a colourful mix of chicken and red and green peppers but it was a rather disgusting looking brown mess) - the seafood medley was pretty average and I don't think the fish was that fresh. Not great is how i would describe the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good but food could be better”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As reported by most other reviewers the location is excellent, especially when the sun shines. We called in and had a drink whilst on holiday in RHB and enjoyed the ambience so much we came back later in the week and had lunch.
I ordered the Steak and Potato Pie and my wife a prawn sandwich with chips. As on previous occasions the chips were excellent but both the crust and the meat in the pie were dry as if it had been kept warm in the oven all lunchtime and the brown bread in the sandwich was just the normal sliced bread. Bearing in mind you are paying over £10 for the sandwich and chips and more for the pie we thought it poor value for money.
We will still visit the pub on future visits as it is an iconic part of RHB but it will be for a drink but not a meal

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hood's Bay
 

Been to The Bay Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing