We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food ”
Review of Ye Dolphin

Ye Dolphin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good honest food ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great pub food. Very tasty and big portions. Would definitely go back and we recommend the giant yorkshire puds and the home made meatballs. Lovely staff as well.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    162
    52
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An great honest pub”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Too many pubs try to pretentiously be something they're not. The Dolphin isn't one of those pubs. It has a brilliant warm atmosphere and open fire. The beer is excellent and kept by people who understand how to look after a bar correctly. The food is wholesome and good pub grub. I had a very nice homemade mutton curry which was authentic and tender. The other meals people were eating looked good too and everyone seemed happy. Best of all, the staff were all welcoming and helpful from the barman to the kitchen staff who came out and asked what we thought of the food. If you're going to Robin Hoods Bay then I recommend going here for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floatyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area but Ye Dolphin is dirty and expensive”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

In truth because of every other bar/restaurant being full our party of 6 entered Ye Dolphin. We ordered food and coffee at the bar. We were informed that there were not enough cups and therefore waited for 20 minutes to receive our drinks. We had chosen an empty table which hadn't been cleaned due to lack of staff I think. We ordered 6 fish and chips and waited and waited but finally after almost an hour the food arrived. In fairness the food was not the worst I have had but certainly not the best. The prices were imaginative for what we had chosen - well unless you expect to pay just under £12.00 / person for cod and chips that take an hour to arrive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent home cooked food in relaxing environment”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Older world charm. Staff very attentive and friendly. We are in the restaurant upstairs. Background music very pleasant. The paddock, salmon and minted pea risotto was really good. Very large portions so unfortunately couldn't fit a pudding in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to this pub for many years and it never fails to deliver. Me and my partner came to Robin Hoods Bay to be married on 16th May and we had a party at Ye Dolphin on saturday 17th.

We had a buffet and the food was to die for!. We had such an amazing night with live music it was everything we could have wished for.

Ye dolphin is a truly unique pub with a wonderful atmosphere and brilliant staff. Thanks again! You won't be able to get rid of us we'll keep coming back as many times as we can get away!

Jamie and Sally

Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Dolphin also viewed

Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hood's Bay
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Ye Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing