We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Er.....just wonderful !”
Review of Thorpe Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorpe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This really was a wonderful break.
Wonderful weather - warm sun, clear sky.
Wonderful location - Robin Hoods Bay, nice pints and lovely fish n chips.
Wonderful house - full of charm, beautiful rooms and gardens.
Wonderfully looked after - tasty breakfast and very friendly Angelique, oh and Teddy and mates as well !! (the mutts)

Room Tip: Squires room - best of all !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Thorpe Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a perfect time. The hall was architecturally unusual for the area and very old in parts. The room was well appointed, comfortable and spacious with lots of character. The gardens and extensive grounds were an oasis of calm, with plenty of seats. A short walk took you into Robin Hood's Bay from the grounds, via a field and onto the former railway track. It was was glorious, overlooking the bay and cliffs with lovely views. We didn't use the car at all from arrival until departure and found lots to do in all directions. The weather was also wonderful and as good as the South of France!

Room Tip: All seemed good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shiehallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We took Canadian cousins to stay the night here and they were thrilled by its age and the helpful and friendly welcome we received. The rooms were all comfortable, although all slightly different in character.

Extremely peaceful stay and although it rained endlessly we still had a great time.

Thanks,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I have fallen under the spell of Thorpe Hall. If you love history and understand old houses, then this is the place to stay. What a privilege to explore this wonderful manor and feel the presence of the Farsyde family that built it. It is an easy and pleasant walk down to Robin Hood's Bay, along the old railway trail and you can walk back up through the village. we especially enjoyed a visit to the nearby Old St Stephens Church, where you can trace more of the history of the Farsyde family. Because the owners live on one side of the house, which is separate from the B&B side, you get your own key and come and go in the house as you please. You can almost imagine that you have been transported back in time you are one of the Farsydes, in your manor home!

We were made to feel very welcome by our hostess, Angelique and the housekeeper who serves the breakfast. My husband and I stayed in room 3, which was the Squire's room. No ensuite for this room, but there was a large private bathroom with a soaker tub, which made up for it. Lots and lots of towels too, and facecloths ( which are hard to get in England). The room was nicely decorated with a comfy bed that was made up with nice linens. We enjoyed a pleasant evening in the 'portrait room', where a fire was lit to chase away the chills. Breakfast was good with lots of toast and delicious homemade jam, along with yoghurt and fruit to fill up any empty spaces.

Angelique has an adorable new Bernese puppy - it's worth the trip just to meet him!

With respect to some of the other comments - yes, the heating isn't uniform, there can be a bit of a draft in the windows, and the floors do creak wonderfully. What can you expect after 300 years??

Room Tip: The Fylingthorpe pub makes a wonderful meal and there is a lovely, small shop in the village as well...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

What a quirky lovely place! Amazing hosts and gorgeous room - yes it's old so it's cold and squeaky but we had heater in room and it warmed up fast, we also lit fire in parlour and played cards in there whilst listening to lovely classical music and the squeaky floors just added to its charm! Angelique was lovely as was all her family, and we - including my young daughter and our dog were made very welcome! Room comfy and spotless and charming. I disagree this is like a hostel! This is a stunning old building the owners have allowed us to 'share' and it's running costs must be astonishing we don't mind paying fair price to stay in such a lovely place with lovely people!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the B&B for two nights in April and where the only two guests.
The owners where not there during the time but a housekeeper was looking after the place.

The house was very cold.
Only our room and the breakfast hall were somewhat heated.
This was unpleasant and we turned on some other radiators on our own.
Still, the mattress and pillows were icy the first night.

Breakfast was ok.
We had fruit and cereals.
Cooked breakfast was ok, too, but we have seen much higher standards at lower price.
We know: it is Aga cooked, but that is not a value in itself (but rather environment unfriendly to be honest).

The biggest disadvantage was that the B&B felt like a youth hostel and indeed its interior almost looked like a youth hostel.
In some youth hostels you get breakfast and can use shared rooms with fireplace etc.

These youth hostels are more friendly than the B&B, as in fact it was not welcoming at all.
On top of that, a youth hostel is much cheaper.

We would recommend to look for a different B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

These guys have the balance just right, the warm human touch when its needed, combined with the "leave you alone" to enjoy your stay, beautiful room, great breakfast, mega-comfy bed, we absolutely loved it, and so did our dogs, who were NEVER made to feel unwelcome. More than dog friendly here, I've stayed places all around the world, and these guys have it just right. It's not perfect, but who expects perfection in such an elderly building, I love it, There is so much more to life than picking fault, your looking for a perfect tranquil break away from civilisation then book, and book now, we'll certainly be going back, fallen in love with the peace and quiet, and Angelique is about as perfect as a hostess as you'll ever find.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank divinerepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
6.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Hall

Address: Thorpe Hall Robin Hoods Bay Middlewood Lane | Fylingthorpe, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £59 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine seventeenth century Elizabethan manor house offering bed and breakfast, Thorpe Hall is situated in the stunning North York Moors National Park, in the village of Fylingthorpe. The Hall is a short walk from Robin Hood's Bay and five miles from Whitby. The whole area is known for its outstanding natural beauty making Thorpe Hall an ideal setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorpe Hall Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Thorpe Hall Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing