We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian weekend”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

stayed 2 nights. Jane very welcoming. Sherry and mincepie a lovely touch. She has paid a lot of attention to detail. Everything spotless. Tastefully decorated. Room lovely and warm, Radiators thermostat controlled. Nice complimentary goodies,free wi fi.Comfortable bed. Definately recommend. Travel light as not lots of storage space,but only a minor detail.Good breakfast. Lovely little dining room.
We ate out at night at Wayfarer bistro just down the road. Excellent meal.
Whitby only 10 minutes away. Taxi £10. There were four of us and its quicker and cheaper than the bus. Obviously we walked down the bay. Alsorts going off. Love to see people in victorian costumes. Great weekend . Julie,Danny Trish and Dave

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crookedspire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had a few options, but choose to stay at the villa due to the quick and friendly response after our enquiry. We were not disappointed at all on arrival the house was decorated for Christmas and we were given a warm welcome. We were given a choice of rooms with a bath or a shower. The room although small was clean and cosy with a tv and full tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was recently refurbished and very nice with the added features of thoughtful items such as cotton pads/buds and nail file. Breakfast was an absolute delight with a vast array of cerals, orange juice and a full English which was perfect! Our host was friendly and sitting in the shared breakfast room with the other guests was nice. My only comments on improvement would be to have breakfast served till later on a Sunday, say 9.30 an 11 checkout however as we had to get up we did make the most of the day and breakfast really was worth it! Parking is limited to 2 spaces, however there was steeet parking round the corner and 2 pay and displays so there would always be somewhere for the car. Overall a lovely place and will stay again- thanks

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our first time staying at The Villa B&B in October of this year and we wouldn't hesitate to go back a second time. Perfect location 2 minutes from walks along coast or around robin hood's bay village. Very welcoming and accommodating host, room was spotlessly clean, had a free parking space for our car, and to top it off the breakfast (full english or choice of cereal and fruit) was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

A very friendly and genuine welcome from someone who obviously enjoys running a B & B, and has done a great job in providing excellent accomodation, very well appointed rooms and kept to a high standard. A relaxed breakfast , plenty of fresh fuit or traditional English, and all served with a smile. I particularly liked the absence of those dreaded stick on notices, no need as all is explained on arrival.
Good luck with the next season Jane,
The Heaps

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Returning customer, now into our third year. If you want to get lost in a huge double bed, fantastic walks, loads of pubs, great local food (mussels!!) and a fantastic host, you must stay at The Villa. Myself and Shelly look forward to returning every year, wish we stayed there more often. Always more than happy to fit in your needs, nothing is ever a hassle. Look forward to seeing you again as Mr & Mrs!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daz897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just spent out third visit this year at Jayne's fab place. We are back again with the kids and their partners for New Year. Nothing is too much trouble for Jayne she is such a caring and genuine person. Came to see the Goths at Whitby and had a brilliant time. The weather was also fantastic. Sunny blue skies at the end of October. What more could you ask for.

Thanks for everything Jayne.

Cheryl and Stephen xxx

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddysoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A warm welcome from a lovely host;very elegantly decorated rooms,both stylishly equiped and spotlessly clean.I`m just now repeating what every other review says.We`ll be going back and for longer.Thank you Jane!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
795 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: The Villa Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £74 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing