We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and a helpful host”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Central location and a helpful host”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Central location with nice rooms. Jane also set us up for an early breakfast - one of the best breakfasts on the whole coast-to-coast hike. The only thing I wished for were larger rooms - we stayed on the top floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emigre_grise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    67
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
316
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Friendly, warm welcome, with sherry and mince pies and fresh milk for our cup of tea. The room was attractive, clean and comfortable; the en-suite shower room luxurious. The radiator was thermostatically controlled and there was plenty of bedding, pillows and cushions which meant you didn't have to ask for more if you wanted to sit and read.
Breakfast was plentiful - delicious and nicely presented.
The hostess was charming, helpful, always available yet not overpowering.
We have no hesitation in recommending The Villa, and will ourselves return in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

2 night stay for the Victorian Weekend. Very welcoming with mulled wine and mince pies- just hit the spot, comfortable, very clean. Beautifully and tastefully restored.Excellant breakfast. Hope to return and won't hesitate to recommend to family and friends. Thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyriljstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

stayed 2 nights. Jane very welcoming. Sherry and mincepie a lovely touch. She has paid a lot of attention to detail. Everything spotless. Tastefully decorated. Room lovely and warm, Radiators thermostat controlled. Nice complimentary goodies,free wi fi.Comfortable bed. Definately recommend. Travel light as not lots of storage space,but only a minor detail.Good breakfast. Lovely little dining room.
We ate out at night at Wayfarer bistro just down the road. Excellent meal.
Whitby only 10 minutes away. Taxi £10. There were four of us and its quicker and cheaper than the bus. Obviously we walked down the bay. Alsorts going off. Love to see people in victorian costumes. Great weekend . Julie,Danny Trish and Dave

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crookedspire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had a few options, but choose to stay at the villa due to the quick and friendly response after our enquiry. We were not disappointed at all on arrival the house was decorated for Christmas and we were given a warm welcome. We were given a choice of rooms with a bath or a shower. The room although small was clean and cosy with a tv and full tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was recently refurbished and very nice with the added features of thoughtful items such as cotton pads/buds and nail file. Breakfast was an absolute delight with a vast array of cerals, orange juice and a full English which was perfect! Our host was friendly and sitting in the shared breakfast room with the other guests was nice. My only comments on improvement would be to have breakfast served till later on a Sunday, say 9.30 an 11 checkout however as we had to get up we did make the most of the day and breakfast really was worth it! Parking is limited to 2 spaces, however there was steeet parking round the corner and 2 pay and displays so there would always be somewhere for the car. Overall a lovely place and will stay again- thanks

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our first time staying at The Villa B&B in October of this year and we wouldn't hesitate to go back a second time. Perfect location 2 minutes from walks along coast or around robin hood's bay village. Very welcoming and accommodating host, room was spotlessly clean, had a free parking space for our car, and to top it off the breakfast (full english or choice of cereal and fruit) was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

A very friendly and genuine welcome from someone who obviously enjoys running a B & B, and has done a great job in providing excellent accomodation, very well appointed rooms and kept to a high standard. A relaxed breakfast , plenty of fresh fuit or traditional English, and all served with a smile. I particularly liked the absence of those dreaded stick on notices, no need as all is explained on arrival.
Good luck with the next season Jane,
The Heaps

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
807 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
11 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Property: The Villa
Address: The Villa Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing