We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, lovely location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good stay, lovely location”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Yards from the sea, a great location to enjoy the lower part of RHB.
Room was comfy, bathroom OK, good breakfast.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeterW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    28
    8
    12
    11
See reviews for
12
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Tiny room, submarine like sea view, bad bathroom, uncomfortable bed, average breakfast, bad value for money and above all rude ignorant owner! Steer well clear... Many more places in beautiful Robin Hood Bay to stay....

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zimgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

What a wonderful find in the heart of Robin Hood's Bay. A wonderful clean and comfortable haven with the perfect host in Brent who really understands the meaning of 'going the extra mile'! He is also a great cook and his breakfast was superb. We will definitely visit again. One night was not enough! Jo & Brent deserve every success.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Me and my husband went to robin hoods bay for a relaxing weekend. Initally we decided to camp but as all campsites were full but luckily Jo and Brent at the Boathouse rescued us. The Boat house is in a perfect setting yards away from the sea, the building is quirky and quaint and the rooms are very clean and comftable. We also had a look at the little house which is so sweet and the apartment which has beautiful sea views. Breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice of fruit and cereals and a delicious full english cooked by Brent. Overall we had a great stay and Jo and Brent are wonderful people. We look forward to returning for another fantastic experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinkles__22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Just got back from spending New Year here: an absolutely brilliant location and really friendly people. Rooms are well appointed, given the space constraints of the fantastic original building.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

At the end of our Coast to Coast walk, we wanted a good B&B to finish - and the Boathouse was great! Superb location right opposite the Bay Hotel, and literally metres from the water's edge, this place has the best location. The stairs are steep, the rooms small and our bathroom was the smallest of the whole trip. But none of this mattered, we had made it. Great hosts, the breakfast was fantastic, they even put on Whitby kippers for us. Strong recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#15 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#16 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

Property: Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Bistro and Lodgings is situated in the old village approx 20yds from the beach. Smugglers is a very popular Bistro serving homemade fresh fish and locally sourced meats in a rustic candle lit environment. The Bistro and wine bar open Wednesday to Sunday evenings, all year round. Smugglers Lodgings offers luxury accommodations ranging from apartment to suites. All sleeping maximum of two and newly refurbished. Please note the Bistro, bar and Lodgings are all adult only. Don't forget to pre-book a table at Smugglers prior to your arrival to avoid disappointment. We get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Bistro And Accommodation Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing