We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Winter Break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Myself and my partner visited Robin Hood's Bay for a 2 night break last week. (Nov 2012) We received a very warm welcome, The room was small but had a lovely comfortable bed, and was very clean. Breakfast was OK, full English and the like. Huge portions. We didnt eat in the Bistro, but the village has several pubs that do food. The Bay Hotel is the best one we tried. We found the staff at the B&B excellent and very helpful. It has a great atmosphere, as it is down by The Dock in the old village at RHB. We would definately visit again (we were informed by Lisa that the refurb is happening in January) so will visit again later next year. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexingtonSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you.

Your words are kind and very helpfull

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    28
    8
    12
    10
See reviews for
11
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We decided on a couple of days away and came across smugglers restaurant on tripadvisor.Well,not much too say really except, the setting was lovely, the atmosphere intimate and yet welcoming, the owner and staff attentive but not intrusive and lastly, the food.... absolutely delicious.I would recomend the seafood risotto and wish I had chosen the fish chowder to start with like my husband, I tried some of his... delicious.All in all if I could travel 300 miles every weekend and go back I would.!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have visited smugglers a number of times and although i respect other opinions i cannot concur with the authors comments dated 22Oct. The food is excellent and the hospitality welcoming the owners have transformed a tired business into a bay hotspot. Congratulations for getting it right i for one will be going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We went to The Smuggler's for dinner and I cannot rate it highly enough.
When we arrived we were impressed by the ambience of the place; it was cosy and intimate and the lighting made it romantic.
The selections available on the menu were all excellent and varied, from the catch of the day to locally sourced pork and we were spoiled for choice. The wine selection was more modest but very reasonably priced. They also served complimetary olives when they served our wine.
The starters arrived promptly; I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on pesto toast and my partner had mackerel pate both of which were excellent.
For our main course we both chose from the specials board. I had seared tuna loin with lime mash and vegetables; it was cooked to perfection, melted in the mouth and the mash complimented the tuna perfectly. My partner had the seafood platter with which he had the option of tuna, cod or salmon with mussels and whole prawns; he also had tuna which although served differently to mine was just as delicious, and he had stilton mash which was also excellent.
We did not have dessert as we were both so full but they also looked delicious with a good and varied selection.
After the meal my partner and I took a while in finishing our wine as we were chatting and ended up being the last left in the restaurant and although it was well past 11 o'clock we were not at all rushed.
The meal came to just over £70 which we considered to be a bargain given the quality of the food, service and surroundings.
The only very small negative about this place is that the toilet was outside, but in this old village it's not unexpected and did not at all bother me.
If you are going to Robin Hood's Bay you simply have to eat here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amygab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I went to stay in RHB recently and was fortunate enough to eat at The smugglers. Its a charming restaurant that is full of character !! I had the Seafood platter - got to say its one of the best seafood dishes i have ever had -all the product was fresh that day- delicious!! Staff were helpful and curtious and went out of their way to make the meal enjoyable.Would deff return and and tell friends to visit.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sugar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

The food was very average the little waitress was excellent but the owners attitude was appalling! She was rude abrupt and disinterested in our group . We should have realised when we tried to book she showed little interest in accommodating us we all love robin hoods bay and were delighted when we heard of a new restaurant opening but I don't think these people are going to last in the Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisymayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh, Lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Smugglers Restaurant:
We have just spent the weekend in RHB, as it's coming towards the end of the tourist season the restaurant was only open Fri & Sat Night, we booked a table for the Friday and it's a good job we did !!! Perhaps they have taken note of the previous review because neither we, nor anybody else in the restaurant were rushed, if fact the opposite, we were told the table was ours for the night (and we booked for 7.30pm).
The food was delicious and plentiful. The prawns come whole, but you are provided with a bowl and towel to rinse your fingers afterwards.
We went to another restaurant in RHB for Saturday, and of the 2, Smugglers was the better food and better value for money !!
A lovely evening with great food, thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#17 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#13 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

Property: Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Bistro and Lodgings is situated in the old village approx 20yds from the beach. Smugglers is a very popular Bistro serving homemade fresh fish and locally sourced meats in a rustic candle lit environment. The Bistro and wine bar open Wednesday to Sunday evenings, all year round. Smugglers Lodgings offers luxury accommodations ranging from apartment to suites. All sleeping maximum of two and newly refurbished. Please note the Bistro, bar and Lodgings are all adult only. Don't forget to pre-book a table at Smugglers prior to your arrival to avoid disappointment. We get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Bistro And Accommodation Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing