We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to Robin Hoods Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Return to Robin Hoods Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Recently had a return visit to Robin Hoods Bay and once again stayed at the Boathouse Rooms. This time stayed in the apartment that is comfortabe and well equipped with a homely feel and has the extra of a sea view.
If you enjoy Robin Hoods Bay this the place to stay, right by the sea.
Thanks again Lisa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    28
    8
    12
    10
See reviews for
11
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We returned to stay in the apartment for 2 nights between Xmas and New Year - we had previously stayed in 2010. The apartment had been refurbished and was still a delightful place to stay and relax. It was nice to be able to get up when you wanted and make breakfast or relax in the evening with a beer or two. We could not however find a corkscrew - but as most wine bottles are now screw top it is not too much of a concern but we were surprised. It should also be noted however that there is no tv in the bedroom as stated on the website but this is not really necessary but it should be updated on the site. My only other criticism is that there should be a blind or curtains at the kitchen window, as although it is slightly raised up you can see people passing and it is is much cosier on an evening with a curtain across when the lights are on inside. There used to be a curtain I think it simply has not been replaced as yet. The location is brilliant and you can see out to sea which is lovely. The food and service in the restaurant is good and is definitely worth a visit. I am sure we will return again - thank you.

Room Tip: I would recommend a stay in the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadineThoseby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We loved this b&b . Stayed for two nights over a cold week end but found our room to be warm an very cosy. In fact romantic. We had the studio , a great space. Our friends had room five with a fab view over the bay. We had hot showers and fresh towels every day. I loved the decoration sort of old deep colours really takes you back in what must be a historic building. The bistro below was amazing. Candle light great food lovely host and smiling waitresses. A good week end had by all of us can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Studio was so romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

what a lovely little hotel.
but what a road down to it.omg.treacherous.
the boathouse is so quaint and quirky.we loved it...didnt love the 2 single beds pushed together..never the less it was comfortable..
we would definately stay there again..
one negative about the place..is the telephone receptionist..i unfortunately left an item of clothing in our room and called the boathouse 2 days later as soon as i realized.she stated that she would put it in the post to me..so we gave her our address... over a week later i still hadnt received it so i rang her again and she said she hadnt been to the post office yet.. and that she would post it soon.i told her not to bother sending it to address given as we were leaving the country to go home and so gave her our home address..she assured me she would post it soon.that was august..it is now middle of november and i still havent got it..despite numerous emails..so..other than that..it was very enjoyable... its not a luxury hotel..so if thats what youre looking for you may be dissappointed..but if youre looking for something out of the ordinary..a step back in time.. then this lovely little boathouse is certainly that.. the whole area is so lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently had another trip to Robin Hoods Bay with friends. Stayed again at the Boathouse Rooms and had a wonderful meal in the Smugglers Inn. Great place with lots of character. Friendly and helpful owner and staff. Cannot fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked the Hotel for our honeymoon weekend and we arrived late at the hotel, 9pm, due to rain, fog and more rain, and asked if could get something to eat as we had been travelling for over four 1/2 hours and we were told unfortunately the restaurant had just finished serving, we asked for maybe a sandwich but were told they don’t do sandwiches but she went to ask the chef if he would cook us something. Yes was the answer and we were shown in to the restaurant which had another couple of full tables waiting for their meals.

On the way to the restaurant we were told breakfast was served there and was served between 8 and 9am only.

Once seated we ordered just main courses because we didn’t want to make the chef work late after letting us in ! A couple of minutes after ordering we were told sorry there is no chicken left, so re ordered, another couple of minutes later I was told there is no mash potatoes left only chips so ordered pork in pepper sauce with veg and chips, while my wife had the spicy veg pasta.

After the girl standing behind the bar had finished texting on her phone I managed to get her attention to order another drink. Our meals were served to us and both were hot and steaming, my meal was OK not great but not bad either, My wife’s on the other hand looked and tasted like they had thrown some left over veg in to a pot with a can of tinned tomatoes warmed it up and then mixed in the pasta. It was poor and lacked any flavour at all and at nearly £15 was a joke, the garlic bread that it was served…. Well…. How a chef can produce something that should be so simple and turn out something so inedible is beyond belief. The bread itself was nice but the ½ inch of garlic mixture on top was truly revolting and a taste I never want to experience again. Why try to be cleaver and recreate a classic that hundreds of people like?

After nearly 5 hours in a car we were too hungry and knackered to complain, so just ate what was in front of us. I did try to order another beer but the girl was this time to busy eating a banana behind the bar to notice me sitting all of 6 feet away.

We left a fair amount of food on our plates and these were cleared and two chocolates left on our table along with the bill without a word being said from the waitress. The other tables were being served their main courses so I couldn’t understand why they didn’t offer us a dessert or coffee, which we would of ordered. The cheese board being taken to another table looked fantastic !!

The blonde lady who I think is the owner is very polite and professional and seemed to be very busy running back and forth. She obviously has a passion for the place but I feel she needs to employ staff who have the same passion and who also show a bit common sense.

We met the people who were seated next to us in the pub over the road a while later and they said how much they enjoyed there meal so maybe we just had a bad experience.

We were hoping for a nice romantic meal as this was our honeymoon weekend but £40 for two main courses and three drinks and poor service, left a bitter taste in my mouth, but at least it didn’t taste of that Garlic bread…. YUCK!!

We then went up to our room, at this stage please remember this was our honeymoon and when I called to book the room I stated this and asked what the room was like, what was described to me and what we received was two different things. While I appreciate that the hotel is old and small, for £80 per night I would of expected a bit more than something that resembled a cheap B&B. The room was dark, dull and boring and our honeymoon bed was two singles pushed together with a nice gap in the middle. I say no more!!

The breakfast was OK and I would of rated it higher but stone cold baked beans are not my favourite. I didn’t complain because the cook/chef should be capable of serving hot beans and if they can’t is there really any point in complaining?

So a double bed consisting of two singles pushed together and stone cold beans, that cold, they even had a skin over them and really poor service in the restaurant doesn’t give great value for £80 per night. We left our Honeymoon ‘’hotel’’ feeling lied to and ripped off, and surprisingly we will never be returning or even recommending.

Far better places elsewhere and the only good thing about this place was leaving it.

Room Tip: Don't book one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GulidfordPhoenix12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although the location and breakfast were very nice the Smugglers Boathouse Rooms were disappointing. We didn't mind being in the roof and having to bend double to get into the room or tiny bathroom (it added to the quirkiness of the place) but the decor was shabby and the furniture miss matched. We were particularly concerned about the electric shower which the owner said was less than a year old and had been checked. The water barely flowed from the badly fitting shower head but when it did the temperature continually varied from cold to scalding hot. Being such a small cubicle made avoiding getting burnt very difficult. It was dangerous. We suggested that £80 for one night was too steep for this room but got no response other than that already mentioned.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AliReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#17 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#13 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 31 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

Property: Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Bistro and Lodgings is situated in the old village approx 20yds from the beach. Smugglers is a very popular Bistro serving homemade fresh fish and locally sourced meats in a rustic candle lit environment. The Bistro and wine bar open Wednesday to Sunday evenings, all year round. Smugglers Lodgings offers luxury accommodations ranging from apartment to suites. All sleeping maximum of two and newly refurbished. Please note the Bistro, bar and Lodgings are all adult only. Don't forget to pre-book a table at Smugglers prior to your arrival to avoid disappointment. We get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Bistro And Accommodation Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing