We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, good food and service”
Review of Swell Cafe Bar

Swell Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Swell Cafe Bar has a prominent position in the old village of Robin Hood's Bay, with seating terraces overlooking the village and beck to one side and sea to the other. Forget the "high street coffee chains" Swell is a little independent trying to provide the best coffee together with fresh simple food! Open daily from 10am to 4.00pm (seasonal).
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab location, good food and service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have visited Swell Cafe Bar several times over the last couple of years when holidaying in the area. Beautiful views over Robin Hood's Bay if you're fortunate enough to get a seat outside. Good food and choice and friendly staff. The service can be a little slow when they're very busy but the beauty of the location means that this isn't too much of an issue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WKC1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    89
    36
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seriously great coffee; but please change the wifi settings”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The espresso was seriously good and served straight away at the counter whilst my very nice panini was prepared and brought to the table in about 10min. The small terrace is a sun trap and has superb views of the sea. The interior is stylishly contemporary and very clean, and the staff look very good in their Swell T-shirts.
I got told rather sternly after absent-mindedly putting my stockinged feet up on another plastic chair outside on the terrace - I was in the wrong for which I apologised immediately but it was the manner of the telling that unsettled me (Jason again, perhaps, as referred to in a recent review?). Free wifi was advertised which I had sought out as company over lunch for a solo cyclist. Unfortunately, this was timed out after 20min from logging on, not 20min of use. This meant that I logged on briefly to get set, then returned after my panini only to find that I was blocked; and I was told that this could not be remedied. I suspect that this is a common pattern of wifi use so other customers may be similarly frustrated? Perhaps the settings could be changed to 20min usage or 60min from logging on?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank repsychlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice location in Robin Hoods Bay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Swell for a family late lunch, it was 2pm and the cafe was less than half full. We found the menu to be quite limited, especially for kids and a bit pricey. It cost £28 for 2 paninis, 2 half wraps for the kids and 4 drinks. We also were told when ordering that there would be at least a 20 minute wait. Having said that the food was very nice , kids enjoyed theirs and the coffee was nice. We stayed for a piece of cake each (another £10) which was ok. All in all an enjoyable visit in a nice location.

Helpful?
Thank 4_Yorkshire_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Walking through the cobbled alleys is the beautifully situated cafe, food and views are excellent, it'ds a peaceful and relaxing to have a coffee/lunch stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyandLiz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff member”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely location and good food. Male member of staff very rude and the encounter was pretty upsetting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 289Sarah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Owner at Swell Cafe Bar, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Sarah, you have my humblest apology (as the staff member in question) for your upsetting encounter - I do not know if you realise how it throws one off guard to find someone snooping around the private areas of your building.

I am very pleased however that otherwise you liked the surroundings and the food.
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swell Cafe Bar also viewed

Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Swell Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing