We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in North Yorkshire!”
Review of Swell Cafe Bar

Swell Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Swell Cafe Bar has a prominent position in the old village of Robin Hood's Bay, with seating terraces overlooking the village and beck to one side and sea to the other. Forget the "high street coffee chains" Swell is a little independent trying to provide the best coffee together with fresh simple food! Open daily from 10am to 4.00pm (seasonal).
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best coffee in North Yorkshire!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have not eaten a meal here, but the coffee is consistently excellent and the cakes are pretty good too.Pleasant staff and setting. Worth traveling to if you like good coffee. Recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank algorrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    97
    40
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great cafe”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely bacon butty and coffee
interesting gift shop cafe a lot bigger than it looks from the outside
with outside seating overlooking the interesting roof lines of the higgledy piggledy buildings

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely paninis”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I were staying in Robin Hood's Bay, and gave this place a try for lunch. We weren't disappointed. We both had panini, and there was a good choice. I had chicken and red onion with sweet chilli sauce, my wife had tuna and cheese. Both were nicely presented, with a side salad and dressing. I had latte, my wife had tea. It was reasonable value at £14. There is a terrace at the front, and one at the back with a sea view.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great pit stop”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely little place that sells light snacks and delicious cakes. It's a great place to stop when you need a break from climbing back up the hill. Coffee was rich and smooth and the cakes were lovely. Service was with a smile and the place was nice and clean. Might have been nice to have a sign showing where the toilets were but other than that everything was nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab location, good food and service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have visited Swell Cafe Bar several times over the last couple of years when holidaying in the area. Beautiful views over Robin Hood's Bay if you're fortunate enough to get a seat outside. Good food and choice and friendly staff. The service can be a little slow when they're very busy but the beauty of the location means that this isn't too much of an issue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WKC1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swell Cafe Bar also viewed

Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Swell Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing