We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food, nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went here for food after finishing the Coast to Coast walk. Food was great, but the pub got very noisy, and on top of that, a band was going to play, so even more people came in, so we tetreated to our B&B. As stated, the food was great, and I'll surely return, the beers were on a par with the food, and the staff were very attentive.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Have had a drink in the Grosvenor on several occasions but never eaten, so I thought I'd put that right with a lunch - time visit after a brisk and thirst inducing walk from Whitby along the rail trail.I had cod and chips from the menu and the meal took quite a while to arrive for which the waitress was very apologetic but it was no problem as I was in no hurry and was enjoying the beer - well kept and served at the perfect temperature.The meal was substantial, freshly prepared, nicely cooked and presented with REAL CHIPS.At £ 8.95 for the food and £ 3.00 a pint, it represented good value.This family friendly venue is clean and tidy ( toilets spotless ) and the staff pleasant and efficient.Overall a pleasing experience.Well worth a try if you're in RHB and fancy a pub lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeliesbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After leaving a weekend wedding in Durham we decided to have a last minute trip to Robin hoods bay for a coastal walk or two. The Grosvenor hotel was offering last minute booking at £50 for two, we had a large family room with large modern en-suit,excellent value.The evening meal was substantial with good fresh vegetables again good value, i would eat here regularly if local.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely 4 day break at this fine hotel, Could not of been better. The food was excellent. And the Service was great, friendly staff and lovely clean rooms. If you like good music I recommend you go see Steve Phillips and the Rough Diamonds who play on a Tuesday night. TOP CLASS musicians and for free! The Sunday night Quiz is a must, and drop us balls game is a great laugh.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knowmyonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Been an excellent 6 days break away spent in the Grosvenor Hotel. The staff there were very helpful and friendly from day one on arrival. Our room was lovely and immaculate regarding hygiene and cleanliness. We were provided with a generous amount of tea/coffee/milk etc. and were able to ask for more when needed.
Lovely en suite bathroom again - sparkling clean and well provided. The evening menu was hard to choose from as they provide good selections of delicious large sized portions of foods for both Adults and children. Also good entertainment in the evening after a lovely meal and a drink - Really enjoyed it.
Breakfast are lovely to wake up to, cereals, toasts, then full English or whatever I asked for really, couldn't beat and as much as I wanted to drink - lasted me all day!
The hotel has a lovely dinning area for romantic meals as well as the bar which I also found nice. The staff are willing to help you in any way they can which is what I found lovely about the place. Its some where I will definitely be heading back to in the future - Defiantly worth it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed Monday 2nd September - Friday 6th September. Room 7 and very good for just the two of us - one double bed plus a single bed. Room clean, bed comfortable. Pressure in shower weak with only warm water. Move the light pull on entry please. Besides that no problem with the room at all.
Breakfasts massive, plenty of choice, ask for whatever you want that is on the menu.
Ate evening meal twice in the four nights and again food very good, big portions.
Staff very obliging and friendly.
No problem parking - pay car park across the road free from 6.00 p.m until 9.00 a.m but plenty of free car parking on the streets around the hotel. Recomend you stay - excellent.

Room Tip: Room 7 front of hotel very good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JalexYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from the Grosvenor Today 29/08/13 what a break! The weather was great we booked in on tuesday mainly to see Steve Phillips,He didnt disappoint All i can say is wow it was superb. We were given the keys to room 7 a small family room but big enough for the 3 of us no complaints at all lovely an clean an crisp bed linen. After we unpacked we went down to have a meal My wife had prawn salad my son had scampi and i had minute steak sandwich o my lord the portions are huge and superb i had quite a few beers and settled down to the music the breakfasts in the morning are simply massive and superb last night my wife had the seafood platter wow the amount was simply staggering and at £15.95 was a steal ! down south it would have been double the price in all the i cannot find fault with the grosvenor we will be back very soon keep up the good work and thankyou all !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
846 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
22 reviews
0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
224 reviews
0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £35 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing