We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats not to love about the Bay Hotel?”
Review of The Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Hotel
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Whats not to love about the Bay Hotel?”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Ok i'm prejudiced, I admit it - I've loved RHB since my first trip at the age of 5 and been back many, many times since. The light on the beach in foul or fair weather is seldom the same twice and mornings and evening s can be especially magical as the tide reveals and conceals the treasure of the many rockpools.

The bay hotel pub itself is the very best kind of seaside pub. An honest pleasant unfussy welcome a small range of really well kept beer and decent grub at a reasonable price.
Food service is brisk and the meals hearty, filling affairs with predominantly local ingredients. Just what you need after a day on the beach.

The rooms are small, spotless and gifted with views that stay with you for ever. (Grab room number one if you can for the most stunning of the views but be aware you may have to book a l o n g way ahead to get it!).

One thing you might like to bare in mind is this. The Bay is smashing in Summer and stunning in Winter. Go out of season, take your warm coats and hats and enjoy the splendour of the place and the pub without a million other visitors jostling around. You've more chance of a room at this time of year and the chance to work (almost) alone on one of the finest beaches in England.

Room Tip: Book Early. Really early. Get room number one if you can and enjoy a sweeping vista of the Bay, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quite_interesting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    29
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I love this place. We have been back many times since my first review in February. It is in beautiful surroundings, the view from the bedroom windows is breathtaking, the sound of the sea crashing onto to the wall below the windows cannot be beaten. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, they all want to go that "extra mile" to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Even when the pub is very busy (which it often is as it is so popular) the wait is never very long. The breakfast is delicious and the portions are very generous, you certainly dont need lunch when you have had the full english! The car park at the top of the hill is very reasonable at £5 for 24 hours. And this ticket can be used in any of the borough of Scarboroughs car parks. So if you want to park in Whitby, Filey, Scarborough or any of the little seaside places in between it can be used. Brilliant idea.

I cannot find anything wrong with the Bay Hotel, I absolutely love it, my only problem is we cant get in as often as we would like as it is booked up!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the biggest and the best. Room 2 has a lovely big private bathroom which is not ensuite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddybear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Ate in the bar on our previous stay in the Bay in October. We had no problem with the food or the service. Decided to eat at the Bay Hotel on a Sunday night. Placed our food order at the bar and found a seat in the bar eating area. Two minutes later my Cod and Chips was brought to the table by the server. The fish batter was extremely dark, dry, and over cooked. The chips looked more like burned crisps. I asked the server to take my meal back to the kitchen since it was obviously over or re-cooked. The server returned to my table with the meal and told me "the cook said this is how she always cooks it"! I explained I had eaten Cod and Chips at the Bay Hotel many times in October 2011 and I had never been served food that looked like that. She returned my food to the kitchen and came back with the same explanation from the cook. I asked for a refund. My husband declined his meal when it arrived at our table since he did not wish to eat if I could not get a decent meal of Cod of Chips. The manager/owner??? then came to our table as we were finishing our drinks and demanded to know "what is your problem?" I explained to him that the food was over cooked. He was extremely rude and angry. We left the establishment and made our way up to the top of the Bay and ate at the Victoria Hotel where the food is always delicious and the staff courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Robin Hood's Bay is a picturesque bay just south of Whitby. The Bay hotel is in the perfect location, on the seawall next to the slipway. Our room was smallish but functional and it was lovely to wake up to the sound of waves hitting the beach. The beach is a good location for fossil hunting and you can check out the tide table at the Old Boat house, a National trust property, which is directly opposite the Bay hotel. The food in the hotel is simple but fine and reasonably priced. We were glad we payed slightly more to be down in the old village rather than being up the VERY steep hill in the newer part of Robin's Hood Bay. With a stunning location and friendly staff the Bay hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here recently, spectacular views and wonderful to hear waves crashing below our window - it was like being on a cruise! The staff were genuinely friendly, my only criticism is the smell of aged fat which permeated everything. The constant smell of over used fat was disgusting and put us off eating there, much better ventilation and less grease on the menu needed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Robin Hoods Bay is a beautiful picturesque little village, and this hotel is right on the beach so when the tide is “in” it reaches the side of the hotel. The view from the bedroom windows is over the bay and is absolutely beautiful! Watching the sunrise and sunset was spectacular!

There is a board outside which reads “children, dogs and muddy boots welcome”, which I thought was lovely! (Dogs are only welcome in the bar area - not in the accommodation). It is a very friendly establishment, we stayed for two nights, and all the staff were brilliant! They were helpful, efficient, and nothing was too much trouble! The pub has two rooms, which were very busy all the time, however, we never waited long to be served even with food. There is a very good selection of beers with draught guiinness available, We chose to eat there both nights, there was a very good selection on the menu with a packed specials board too, and the food was excellent, home cooked, fresh and reasonably priced. Plus the kitchen door is always open allowing you to see the cooking taking place if you wish to do so (which I always think is a good sign). The breakfast choice is also very good, with “real” kippers on the menu!! The full english was among the best I have tasted, with everything freshly cooked to perfection!
The room was spotless and had a nice selection of tea/coffee etc. It was comfortable and had everything we needed. There is free wifi for those who want it too!

We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked for two further weekend breaks, but had a real problem with this as they were booked up!!!!

Room Tip: The best room is room 1 which is ensuite and the biggest and has the best view, Room 3 is also ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddybear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here Saturday 22nd Jan and it couldnt have been better. Lovely ensuite double room with TV. Coffee tea and hot chocolate provided. Free wifi and hairdryer provided. Best of all tho was the sound of crashing waves and howling wind while being tucked up in a cozy bed.
All of the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. We also ate in the bar on Saturday night, lamb hotpot was delicious and Mick devoured Cumberland sausage in a Yorkshir pud with chips. Massive portions! Bar was busy but service was both efficicient and friendly. We had a great weekend andhope to return.

Room Tip: We were in room 3, double ensuite, great view but think this would apply to all 3 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol and mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
807 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
11 reviews
2.6 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: The Dock | Near Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing