We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pub”
Review of The Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Hotel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food lovely beer made very welcome by staff love coming in here when we on holiday would definatley reccomend people call in :) has coast to coast to sign after u have done the 92 mile walk beer well kept a nice pint of wainwrights n sandwich :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mandib33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    30
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed in room number 1 with the sea view and en-suite, breath-taking and unique views. Lovely, friendly staff, top notch breakfast and in a great position for the Cleveland Way walk to Whitby. Definitely staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was 30 years since I'd been to Robin Hood's Bay and pleased to say not a great deal has changed - long may it be that way! This was the first time we have actually stopped at The Bay Hotel and it won't be the last ! The rooms are perfectly fine and clean with views and location that are second to none. The hotel/pub is just how it should be in a spot like this with very good bar food - try the mixed fish starter, great beer and our dog was made really welcome. The staff could not have been more friendly and chatty despite being very busy even on a Tuesday night at the beginning of October. With walks along the beach and up the hill to burn those breakfast calories we'll be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Friendly welcoming staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms and the food offered in the bar is superb. The highlight though is the view which looks out to sea and at the dock area. Simply not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room 1 for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokeysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St.Annes
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay so carnt comment on rooms, we stayed near by but came in for food n drinks, amazing location tide was in stunning views of the bay and the food, drinks and service all excellent. Will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hibby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

the good: breakfast, location & views of the bay
the Bad: dirty carpets, the whole place smelts of chips,all the rooms are over the bar, we stayed 2 nights and the noise didnt stop until 1.30AM Friday night and 1am Saturday night so unless you are in party mood try somewhere else
we left two coats in our room but when we called back they said they didnt find them
the staff would probably have been friendlier if they hadn't been so busy

Room Tip: try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louimfc, Owner at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
RE: “outstanding views & location but unless you want to sleep before 1am try somwhere else”
From Linda Winspear (Licensee of The Bay Hotel)

I do not understand this comment at all. yes we had a karoke on the Friday night which is one of two we do every year. The people who have written this review stayed down the whole night on the Friday and thoroughly enjoyed their evening. On the Saturday night we had a fundraiser for a local animal charity in the village. There was entertainment provided in the form of a duo which were A tribute act to The Crooners. This was situated in the family room not directly beneath the residential rooms. The entertainment ceased at 11.15pm, this was a one off occasion for a noble cause which is close to the hearts of the people of the surrounding community. However, the pub itself does have a license till midnight which we did not utilise on the night concerned (Saturday). The pub itself was closed and shut down before 12:30am. Regarding the coats that were left in the rooms, they have been sent back and the people concerned should have received them.
The staff members (on the phone) concerned regarding the left garments were unlikely to have been informed about the coats and therefore a misunderstanding may have been apparent, for which we apologise.

Kind Regards

Linda Winspear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long buckby
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked 2 rooms and was told we paid a nights deposit for each room, unfortunately our friends settled the bill, and it wasn't til we got home another tender a night per room had been added to the bill...sunshine tax???
Having said that room 1 had beautiful views, room3 very small and noisy.
Breakfast was ok and the serving lady most friendly and efficient.
Not the nicest looking guest areas but for the ambience worth seeing past

Room Tip: Room1 is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cas194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
2.6 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,219 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: The Dock | Near Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing