We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly stay”
Review of Thackwood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thackwood B&B
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just had 2 nights stay at one of the best B & B's we've ever stayed in. We had a twin room which was superbly decorated with an ensuite. Very cosy and clean room. The warm welcome we received from Tracy & Andy was tremendous. The breakfast was more than we could have asked for, extremely ummy. We would have no hesitation in returning to this B&B and would highly recommend it. They also have two vert delightful children not forgetting Bobby. Well done Tracy & Andy - top marks. Steph & Bernard Brown

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We couldn't fault this lovely B&B. The family were friendly and chilled out - nothing was a drama. The room was perfect for our two night stay - a decent size, light, tastefully decorated with a big bathroom. Because they are positioned higher in the bay, they have a fabulous view of the coastline. They have off-road parking on their drive which is a big bonus in such a small village. The breakfast is yummy (cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cooked breakfast) - we asked for a smaller cooked breakfast on the second day because they were so big.

If we go back to Robin Hoods Bay we'd stay there again - I wouldn't bother looking for another place to stay.

We walked down to eat at Smugglers on the Saturday evening which is only a 5-10 minute walk depending on your ambling speed (it is uphill on the way back).
You are virtually on the Cleveland Way - we walked the 12 mile round trip to Whitby - whilst Whitby was busy, the walking trail was surprisingly quiet. In the other direction you can head over to Ravenscar. Dalby Forest is about 50 minutes drive away - Go Ape is a good half day out (they have 4 zip wires) or they have Segway riding or mountain biking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureAndGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at "Thackwood" on Friday 31st May, our last night on the Cleveland Way Walk. Very convenient location, right on the Cleveland Way. On arrival we were made very welcome, standard of accommodation was very high and most comfortable. Breakfast and service was excellent, would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were two couples completing our 200 mile coast to coast walk across England's glorious
lake district , Yorkshire moors and Yorkshire dales. Thackwood at Robin Hoods Bay was the perfect finale!
A warm welcome from Andy and Tracy awaited us, as did two beautifully, and imaginatively decorated rooms with terrific views over the sea. Breakfast was a treat! We can thoroughly
recommend a stay at Thackwood, and Robin Hoods Bay is delightful. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great with lovely views, one "Terracotta" one "Green" .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our stay was fantastic. Very homely and friendly. Breakfasts are superb. Highly recommended. We stayed three nights in the twin room with a bath and shower. Very clean and cosy. Weather was great. Lovely place to visit. Robinhoodsbay is picturesque with old pubs and shops

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

my husband and i took our son and his family including our three year old grandson for the may bank holiday weekend. It was just perfect and suited all our tastes, a lovely warm welcome, the rooms are fabulous and the two with the sea views are stunning. Breakfast was great and it set us up for the day. Could not find fault with anything. Will definetley be returning and would highly reccomend. Thankyou for a relaxing break from the robinsons of doncaster

Room Tip: all three are just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent our anniversary weekend here and had a fabulous time. From the warm welcome, delicious breakfasts and beautiful, clean fresh bedroom it was a delight from start to finish. Would recommend to anyone wanting to visit this lovely part of the Yorkshire coast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thackwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thackwood B&B

Address: Thackwood Mount Pleasant East, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thackwood B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing