We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Thackwood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thackwood B&B
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at Thackwood for 1 night after being let down by the place we had booked for , we were welcomed warmly, the room was beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, would have liked to have stayed longer we would certainly recommend Thackwood to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Robin Hoods Bay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandieWellsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Great views, great location, superb hosts, (even managed a celebratory birthday breakfast with no prior warning, card, candle et al), charming family, gorgeously decorated room, would most certainly go back and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriamrl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in May at Thackwood and it was a very pleasant experience.
Wonderful breakfasts (I can thoroughly recommend the sausages) fresh fruit and an excellent cup of tea set us up really well for the day. The rooms have fabulous sea views with comfy chairs placed so you can sip your pre-breakfast cuppa just relaxing looking out to sea and planning the events for the day. Tracey is very welcoming and informative. Will certainly visit again if we get the chance. Think you should too.

Room Tip: Any one of the double rooms. Both have sea views looking towards Ravenscar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited Robin Hood's Bay for a couple of days and chose to stay at Thackwood. We had a lovely welcome upon our arrival and were shown to the Green Room which had absolutely stunning views across the bay. The B&B is at the top of the village but close to all amenities which are all within walking distance.

Andy and Tracy made us feel quite at home during our stay, and we thoroughly enjoyed their wonderful home cooked breakfasts. A very special touch was a gift and birthday card which thye gave to our little girl, who celebrated her 7th birthday whilst we were there - we thought this was a really lovely and unexpected thing for them to do but so very kind and thoughtful.

Our room was very comfortable and roomy, with a very cosy bed and spacious bathroom and it was a real pleasure to come back to after a day of climbing steep hills and adventuring on the beach. We would highly recommend this family friendly B&B, and would love to return at some point in the future. Thanks to Andy and Tracy for a really lovely break.

Julia, Bob and Carys Moreland, Sheffield

Room Tip: We were given the Green Room which is very spacious and able to accommodate a bed for a child, so wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at Thackwood B and B last week on the 15th and 16th May. We were made to feel very welcome and Tracy and Andy were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, two of the rooms have wonderful views over the sea. The breakfasts were excellent, they were well presented, plentiful and delicious.It was a great place for parking and two minutes away from the Cleveland Way footpath. We will recommend this lovely place to our friends.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandalex072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in the Terracotta room over a weekend in February when my partner was doing a photography course in RHB. We were very impressed with the sea view from the room which was a blessing when the weather turned very bad. The b&b is located at the top of the bay so the views are probably better than if you stay lower down in the bay. As there was heavy rain and storm on our first day, we spent a good few hours relaxing in the room watching the view. The room was very clean. The wooden furniture lovely and overall the b&b was nicely decorated. The room was very modern - bathroom was huge, the bed also very big (and very comfortable!) and the room was warm (extra heater provided). Since my partners photography course got rescheduled, we needed to change our breakfast/packed lunch plans - the owners were accommodating, easy going and nice. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Terracotta room has got the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here last July and again in January. Both times the welcome was great, lovely sized bedroom and bathroom, very comfortable. Breakfast was great. The whole family were lovely. This is now our favourite place to stay.
Pat & Mike
From Lincoln.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
858 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thackwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thackwood B&B

Address: Thackwood Mount Pleasant East, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thackwood B&B Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing