We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel!”
Review of The Flask Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Flask Inn
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and i and son stayed here for one evening. We booked a family room and it was one of the new refurbished room... it was delightful!! We had our evening meal here which was also very good . The hotel is centrally located for Whitby and Scarborough with some delightful views of the sea and there is a little playground area on the adjoining caravan park for children to let of some steam. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    29
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton-le-Willows
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I were looking for accommodation and saw the sign for The Flask Inn at the side of the road.
We stayed in the "coach house"room which was down stairs and had been refurbished i March of this year.The room was very clean and spacious,we had an evening meal and very good it was too,the meal was a while in arriving but on that particular night they were short of staff.
The breakfast the following morning was truly excellent and the gentleman who was taking the orders,and delivering the food to the tables,I assumed to be the owner of the Inn.He was very polite and attentive and friendly.
I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Arrived in evening after booking 2 double rooms next to each other(one for 2 adults and one for a 12 year old) via booking.com 4 days in advance only to be told that only one room had been booked and that was for one person! Having travelled from worcestershire I was miffed, however they did say that they had another room available but it was downstairs in the new annex, meaning that the 12yr old would have to be in a room quite a distance away from us. Having no choice we had to accept this arrangement and dad had to sleep with son as he was a little apprehensive at being 2 floors down. There was an apology about this and a member of staff did admit that he had not read my booking email properly! There was no offer of any sort of compensation or discount, the whole room price was charged. However the staff were friendly and the evening food was outstanding as was the breakfast which has a menu with delicious choices like Eggs Benedict (recommended), full english, american fruit pancakes, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs etc.Also fresh fruit , cereals, yogurts, fruit juices, prunes etc. The breakfast waiter could not have been nicer or more helpful. Would i return? Yes but i recommend to double check your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonchild1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

we stayed for three nights the room was very nice, shower great. breakfast more than i could eat and well presented. staff very friendly, evening meal was good even though the steak burger was burnt it was changed without question. overall a nice hotel to stay at will stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: harvester room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This review is for the restaurant: Eaten here twice, the food is absolutely beautiful, really reasonably priced and huge portions. Very pleased that you can take a well behaved dog in with you. Friendly staff and excellent facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyKat133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely inn which we stayed at for one night (our 4th wedding anniversary).

On arrival the staff behind the bar were very helpful, friendly and smiley. It's always good to have staff who can have a conversation as you get the impression that if you're being given their time, they care about your staying experience.

The rooms are currently being refurbished and ours hadn't been done yet, so the one dropped mark on that is for the shower that needed a bit of work (though the temp and pressure were fine) and the decor was a little dated. That said, the room was a very good size, the bed was very comfy and it was spotlessly clean. When the room has been refurbished I have no doubt it would get a full 5 stars.

The location is lovely and quite close to the coast with a cooling breeze being a plus when we were there!

We didn't have an evening meal there, but breakfast was included in the price of the room (£70 per night at time of writing. This was for 2 adults and one under 3 who stayed for free). The breakfast itself was very tasty with a good variety of cooked breakfasts to choose from. We all had a usual cooked breakfast, bacon, sausages and hash browns being the best bits of the dish. If I had to pick one thing to improve, another fruit juice other than orange would be a plus :-)

For the price, it was an excellent place to stay, the food being a highlight as well as excellent service. Highly recommended, especially if you want to explore the area between Scarborough and Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfieldho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAIRO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A nice old fashion inn from the outside but the accommodation is a little disappointing for the price you pay. Bath did not work in one room and shower the same in another. Food excellent and breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Thought this was nearer to Robin Hoods Bay-5 miles away--not sure where the sea views were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRUMPYCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
3.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
8.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Flask Inn Holiday Home Park
The Flask Inn Holiday Home Park
#6 of 12 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flask Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flask Inn

Property: The Flask Inn
Address: On the A171 (Whitby To Scarborough Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Flask Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Flask Inn Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing