We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value!”
Review of Ingleby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hood's Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ingleby House
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Have stayed on more than one occasion and absolutely love it - going back later this year, can't get enough of this place! The views are stunning, and Terry's hospitality is legendary. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you're going self-catering and you like good views, try the Studio - awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ended up staying in the Studio Apartment here due to a error by myself. I thought I had booked my wife & I into another place but I had forgotten to confirm with the owner :( Any way to cut a long story short the owner of the other guest house took us to see Terry at the Ingleby and he had the Studio vacant. One word WOW!!!!
The apertment is in the perfect location, the apartment is clean and tidy and full of character, the bed is so comfortable and the views from the windows, well go ansd see for yourself. Oh yes and Terry is the perfect host. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just back from our 7th stay in the Studio at Ingleby House! As usual I didn't want to leave! I love it... Cosy and warm, amazing sea views, comfy bed, a real step back in time and a lovely escape from the day to day grind...an ideal place to recharge your batteries.
You can hole yourselves up and watch all the videos, dvds, read books, or enjoy one of the plentiful walks in the area, including the Cleveland Way into Whitby.
Terry is a lovely friendly host, on hand if you need anything but won't intrude.
Several restaurants, pubs and a chippy within a minutes walk.
We also fancy staying in the Annexe next time for a change, maybe.
Can't really think of any negatives.... except maybe if you struggle with stairs.
Parking is at the top of the village, which is fine. But you can bring your car down to load or unload your luggage.
Get booked...its fab!!! ★★★★★

Room Tip: Studio and annexe probably have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patti63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed in The Studio at Ingleby House around eight times now and we love it!!! It is a well-equipped quirky apartment with fantastic views across the bay and over the rooftops of the village. It is a very short walk to the sea and several eateries serving good food .The owner, Terry, is great. He is very friendly, laid back and approachable. We are visiting Ingleby House again very soon and can't wait!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PamH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in October in the Tudor apartment and found it very cosy, warm and clean. The owner Terry is first class. We hadn't booked and there was a note on the door with a phone number to ring, when I rang he said "I'm out fishing but if you get the key from the hiding place and let yourself in and have a look, if you like it I'll see you at 5:00pm and if you don't just replace the key" (how trusting). The apartment has a lounge with small kitchen area and the bedroom has a small four poster bed which is very comfortable, the decor is very tasteful and in the Tudor style. This is a perfect place to rest after seeing everything in RHBay and Whitby a short drive away, It's only 30 metres from the pub and a further 30 metres to a couple of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed in The Annexe - lovely apartment, beautiful views from every window.
Cosy, clean and comfortable. Compact, but still everything there you should need, it also has an added bonus of own rear door leading to sitting out area with fantastic sea views - perfect on a summer evening with a glass of wine! However, the seats and bench on the grassy area out the back are the property of Haven Cottage, though I still used them when they were free, otherwise a couple of chairs are provided in the apartment to sit outside with.
Very comfortable bed, excellent large shower unit which, with the toilet, is downstairs.
Terry is a very friendly, welcoming host who leaves you to your own devices but is there if he's needed. I only saw him at the start and end of my break as I was using my own key for the back door, perfect to come and go as you please.
All in all, I couldn't have had a more perfect couple of days - even the sun shone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank libbyl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

As a group we stayed in two rooms, the Tudor apartment and the pine room, both rooms were clean cosy and had everything you needed. There were lots of films and books for guests to use and even some communal brollies (which came in handy). as anywhere in robin hoods bay, there are steep stairs so wouldn't be suitable for anyone with mobility problems but it does warn people beforehand. The owner Terry is lovely and on hand if you need anything. I would definitely stay again. The Tudor room in particular would be great as a romantic little bolthole. And best of all its just a hop and a skip away from pubs, restaurants and the beach :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saratonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.6 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Birtley House
Birtley House
#7 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleby House

Property: Ingleby House
Address: Ingleby House King Street, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Robin Hood's Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleby House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ingleby House Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing