We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

One of the best B and B's we've ever stayed in. Sue is a gracious and welcoming host, the room is spotless and well appointed with magnificent views of Robin Hood's Bay from the bedroom window and balcony and the breakfast in the comservatory overlooking the garden is superb. Off street parking and WiFi add to a complete package. The walk down to the village at the foot of a steep, winding and narrow road ends in a picturesque and charming end to a perfect day. Try the Bay Hotel at the bottom of the hill or as we did the best fish and chips we've ever had from a small shop just around the corner from the pub. Fern Lodge is a great base to explore Whitby and the Yorkshire Moors area.
Rob and Marg C
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a wonderful time, The view was our idea of heaven, the room was light and airy and spotlessly clean, having it's own veranda where on arrival, Sue made us tea and biscuits and left us out on there to enjoy the view. The bathroom was spotless and quite large and the shower hot and refreshing.. The breakfast was substantial and nicely cooked and the fruit salad that I ordered was fresh and enormous, my only regret was I couldn't eat it all. This I can honestly say was one of the best places that we have stayed, we could not fault it. Sue herself is welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay here again, I honestly could not find any fault and car parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After travelling from Nottingham on a motorcycle on a very hot day, after first greeting us and showing us our stunning room with a fantastic view over her beautiful garden to the sea and coastline. Sue, our host hit the spot with a jug of cold juice and ice. much refreshed shower time,fantastic power shower. Very short walk to Robin Hoods bay road. Good nights sleep in comfy memory foam bed. Sue provides a good choice of breakfast which set us up for most of the day. Room and bathroom cleaned and tidied on a daily bases. Sue is willing to help with any query you have on your planned days activity. Although not needed, Sue did offer to us the use of her garage for the motorcycle.Not all places will do that, I know. Friendly homely feel to the place thanks to Sue. Word of warning to Sue, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_simons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

we had great time here ideally situated not only for walking down into Robin Hoods bay but for Cinder trail too, Whitby not to far. Room was great only thing we found we didn't like was the mattress as I think it was memory foam. Probably ok if you are used to it. Hospitality was outstanding. And there was a very good selection at breakfast. We loved the veranda and watching the sun go down, such a beautiful view and gardens. One thing we thought was great was a secure lockup for our bikes.
Would think about going back again and will recommend to others

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked to stay for two nights, but on arrival immediately added a third. Sue was the perfect host, very friendly and efficient. Room was tremendous and with the balcony giving a great view of Robin Hoods Bay it seemed a shame to go out ! Lovely breakfasts set you up for the day and very adequate tea, coffee, water and soft drinks in the room. The location of the house is great, three minutes walk from the top of the hill, going down to the Bay, you really wouldn't want to be staying down the hill !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Fern Lodge studio. It looked nice online but exceeded expectations when we arrived. It had everything we needed, and more, for our stay. Some nice touches - fresh flowers, orange juice and water in the fridge, teabags/coffee and milk and some yummy biscuits. It had lovely views over the garden and beyond onto the moors. It was light and more spacious than I thought it would be. Parking was great and it was ideally situated for Robin Hood's Bay and for travelling further afield too. I would recommend this little apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We keep coming back as this is such a good B&B. The studio is great too. It's so peaceful, yet only minutes walk away from the main street. Off road parking provided. Sue is a perfect host. Just one double room B&B, and another double in the studio apt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heledav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Address: Fern Lodge Laburnum Avenue, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lodge Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing