We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT STUDIO FOR TWO”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Fern Studio is a super find. There is a bedroom with ensuite shower room and lovely view, but you also have a small lounge with a kitchen corner, housing sink, microwave and fridge. There is also a small conservatory with table and chairs which has superb view through the large windows - what a lovely place to sit with a cuppa! Sue is absolutely lovely and gave us a really warm welcome. Her breakfast was fantastic (much better than most hotels we have stayed in) and was taken in the main conservatory downstairs with a lovely view over the garden. The main house and studio were spotless and there is the real bonus of private off road parking, whilst still being right in the heart of the bay. Last but not least is the exceptional value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had a fantastic nights stay. From the moment we were welcomed by Sue, we cannot fault a thing about our stay at fern lodge. Really nice room with amazing view of the bay which is beautiful to see first thing in the morning. All this topped off by a great breakfast selection, which filled us up for the day. We would easily recommend this to others and look forward to going back again. Thank you

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gagno9-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We watched the sun rise over the bay from the bedroom window. Sue is really friendly (even after we were late arriving), cooks a fantastic breakfast and keeps her house spotless. We would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Beautiful view from the bedroom, spotlessly clean, little extras made all the difference like orange juice cartons and bottled water as well as the usual tea, coffee and biccies. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious, and again, little extras on the table of grapes, blueberries and strawberries even though we had just ticked the full breakfasts on the order sheet the night before. Thank you so much Sue for making our stay such a memorable one. We have also reviewed Bramblewick Bistro and Wayfarers Bistro in Robin hood's Bay separately - both excellent. This b and b is a short walk down to the seafront. Not recommended if you have mobility problems as it is quite steep. We can thoroughly recommend Fern Lodge and wish you all the best Sue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieCubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We found the studio not only modern,very clean and spacious, but very cosy and warm on a very wet and windy night. It was very quiet which helped with our two year old daughter and well to be honest, perfect, just what we were looking for plus more! We were pleasantly pleased that the studio was so close to the main area of the bay, with its own entrance (which came in handy when you have a noisy child) and it was basically nice to park the car and not worry about parking fees! The breakfast was more than we were expecting and was just right for the days fun. We were also impressed by Sue`s hospitality and attention to detail. I would definately say this was worth the money and more than just a B&B! We would definately stay here again and for much longer. Thank you Sue.

Room Tip: Choose the studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at this B&B for one night in April 2013 and cannot recommend it enough! The room was lovely, the views from the balcony were fantastic and the breakfast was excellent! We found the owner to be really friendly and helpful. We will definitely try and stay here again next time we visit Robin Hoods Bay.

The B&B is in a fab position for exploring Robin Hoods Bay, we walked down into the village in the evening and enjoyed a lovely meal and evening out with just a short walk back to the B&B at the end of the night.

We frequently travel to the Scarborough/Whitby/Robin Hoods Bay area and this is by far the best place that we have stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at robin hoods bay before but further down the bay.
Fern lodge b&b beats our previous stays hands down.
I rate this b&b 5 stars.
Beautiful views, very clean with a very warm welcom from sue.
Our room was well prepared and warmed for our stay.
Sue was very welcoming and hospitable.
A jewel in the crown for robin hoods bay.
If your ever going to stay oin robin hoods bay then definitely stay at fern lodge b&b!
We will definitely be staying here again next year ★★★★★

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assassin2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ings Bed & Breakfast
North Ings Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Address: Fern Lodge Laburnum Avenue, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lodge Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing