We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home perfection!”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband booked this little gem as a surprise for my birthday (I had never visited this part of the country before). It was recommended by his parents who had previously stayed here.
We stayed in the studio which has its own separate entrance and on first arriving we were bowled over with the cleanliness, space and facilities!
It didn't take us long to feel right at home and we sat admiring the beautiful gardens and extended view of the rolling countryside from the 1st floor conservatory-bliss! The lounge area had great little touches like fresh flowers, information for the local and surrounding areas, flat screen TV and a very comfortable sofa. There was also water and orange juice in the extremely useful fridge with a good selection of tea, coffee and biscuits! What more could you ask for?
Sue was a fabulous hostess who made us feel so welcome with excellent suggestions of where to go and what to do but she was not intrusive. Her breakfasts were freshly cooked and it was nice to have a choice with a simple tick list left in your room the day before. The fresh fruit salad was to die for!
This is a perfect lodge, in a perfect spot for a perfect break! Look no further, you certainly won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We loved the studio as it was spacious, light and airy and so quiet. Perfect ingredients for an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrummyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent a night at Fern Lodge at the end of the Coast to Coast Walk and had a good experience. Sue was a very welcoming host and helped us out with some dinner suggestions. The inn is on a very quiet residential street just a block away from the main road. It's also just around the corner from the bus stop, which is very convenient for Coast to Coasters. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the wi-fi worked great. Our room had a nice sun room overlooking the garden, which was also nice. We would recommend Fern Lodge to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend staying at Fern lodge.

The location is spot on, just on the top of RHB, and a minutes walk to all amenities. Having free parking was an added bonus.

Sue the host was very welcoming and made us feel at home as did her lovely mum who was over from Cyprus.

The room was spotless, and we took full advantage of the fantastic view from the balcony overlooking the bay,the weather was amazing. Breakfast was superb and very well cooked.

We have already re booked to go back in Nov to stay in the studio and can't wait to get back to RHB which is full of character and charm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winelovers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a fantastic break here on the 12/04 for one night lovely and clean and peaceful would recommend this place to anyone Sue is so helpful too. The breakfast was delicious and served in the tranquility of the conservatory looking out onto the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April.Just a perfect place to stay.Thanks Sue we will recommend this studio.No traffic noise whatsoever.Very clean and comfortable everything a couple would need for a few days break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jaredLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Fantastic place to stay in Robin Hoods Bay. Peaceful, good value, convenient location, parking, beautiful view, immaculate, comfortable, delicious breakfast and welcoming attentive host. Impossible to find a single fault. Perfect stay. Also, only a five minute flat walk to the Wayfarer - the best restaurant in the village. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stopped in fern studio...part of the guest house. A compact little place with everything you need and a stunning view. Extras like fresh flowers and orange juice and water were much appreciated. I would just like to add that this place was spotless! And so near to everything in the bay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robin Hood's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
858 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Address: Fern Lodge Laburnum Avenue, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lodge Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing