We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
Leeds
1 review
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have just come back from our weekend and after our fith visit to Robin Hoods Bay staying with the Foster family, it's still my favourite place. When the welcome, hospitality, rooms not to mention breakfast are just what you want, why would you change it? The b&b is at the top of the bank with parking. A few doors down is a family friendly pub that serves great food & has a little play area outside that my kids can never resist. This was our first visit in November and I must say I loved it. This place isn't just about the summer. Try it, I wonder if it will be your family favourite too?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Of course, this was our last night on the Coast to Coast. Callum greeted us and made us feel very welcome. He gave dinner recommendations and bus info for the next day. The room was well appointed and the bathroom very nice. It was close to town without being in the busy part. Rachel was helpful as she served us breakfast. An all round good experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msl48335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

the b&b is owned and run by a couple with three young children, i was slightly worried at first that the children would be noisy in the mornings but we never heard them at all, the rooms were well set out and very clean and the porthole in the bathroom was a lovely quirky feature, the breakfast was lovely with a varied choice. apart from your room you only have use of the dining room as all other areas downstairs are private for the familys use, Its a great place to stay if you do just want a bed and some breakfast but if you like to sit and relax away from the bedroom before you go out in the morning or at night this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Northcliff Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank- you for your comments we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but felt I need to resond to some of your statements. We are not a hotel, we are very similar to many of the other B&Bs in that we don't offer a guest lounge. Often extra facilites are reflected in the price at other establishments so to have the use of another room may mean you pay a higher tariff. The dining room is never closed so guests are welcome to come and sit in an armchair and relax if they do not want to sit in their room. (which some guest like to do). Also we only have 2 children and only 1 of them is very young.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed over the August bank holiday weekend and it was pleasant enough but I have now decided that bed and breakfasts are not for me. I miss the freedom that a holiday cottage or bigger hotel offers, we did feel that we were in the way and living in a strangers family home. The owners have a young family and it must be very difficult to juggle jobs, kids and guests but I found it very unsettling. There needs to be a guest living area as we found ourselves staying out as there was nowhere to sit and relax apart from your room. The rooms were OK, they were clean and had everything you needed but my god the bed was hard! It was like sleeping on wood planks.
Overall a nice house, a lovely couple, but not the right place for me.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippydired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Northcliff... and we LOVED IT!!! Thanku SO MUCH to the hardworking family who run it..Rachel & Callum.
We were given a key staight away to come and go as we pleased which is great!!!
We stayed in the blue room overlooking the front..we had off street parking which is a bonus as its busy with cars but there is ample parking as in car parks very close by.
The breakfast was lovely and you didnt want for anything....a really lovely BB
in a really BEAUTIFUL place too. Without question we would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammaloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

A place that just looked a little different, in a good way. Sensible thickness of duvet given weather at time - some places insist on the highest tog rating even in summer...why? Clean, tidy, bathroom a little small, but managable, one big breakfast table, different, but funtional and worked given small number of rooms. Service very friendly, secure cycle storage and parking on road nearby - although a bit of a lottery finding a space. No complaints and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singletracker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nth yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed at the North Cliff for the second time,the room and en suite were very clean.Breakfast was excellant there was fresh fruit ,cereal, full English ,and eggs benedict which my wife had she said they were brilliant.We found the off road parking an extra bonus sa we used the North Cliff as a base for doing some of the many local walks Racael & Callum gave us some good advise on the routes in the area.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definately return

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#15 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rounton House
Rounton House
#18 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hood's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Bed & Breakfast

Property: Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
Address: Northcliffe Mount Pleasant North | Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Northcliff Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing