We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rachel, the landlady and owner extends a warm welcome to guests and provides a very sumptuous breakfast, catering for individual requirements.

Whilst the bed was comfortable and offered a decent night's sleep, the room itself was very compact. My partner is very tall and found the space a little cramped, especially the ensuite shower room. He did, however, love the shower which was very powerful and had plentiful hot water.

There were no real complaints about the accommodation, other than the size of the room.

This is also a family home so guests should expect to hear a little noise from the children from time to time, although none of this is early morning or late evening.

The rating of this property reflects the compactness of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfgiva35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights and would recommend. Situated in the quaint village of Robins Hood Bay and just a short walk down to the Sea it's a great base for exploring North Yorkshire. The rooms in the B&B are clean & tidy and fairly spacious. Paid £40 p/n for single occupancy of a double room which I thought was good value. I have to say the food was excellent and our hosts were friendly. Parking is available on the drive which is really useful for carrying in bags etc.

Would definitely recommend this B&B and the area. My top tip : Mallyan Spout Waterfall nr Goathland (25 min drive). Lovely walk (don't attempt it if your not fit and healthy) by river which involves clambering over rocks to get to the waterfall which is a 60ft drop. Such an idyllic spot in unspoilt countryside. The Mallyan Spout Hotel is also a must visit for good coffee (located at the start of the walk). Staff really friendly and helpful.

All in all a good B&B in a great spot at a reasonable price - what more could you want?!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a big window which allows in more light than Room 1.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Northcliff form three nights last week-end.
Faultless.
Good location.
Nice Room.
Good food.
Highly recommended.
Will deffo come back.
Thank you Rachel and Callum for making our stay so nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the picture.So cosy
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have just come back from our weekend and after our fith visit to Robin Hoods Bay staying with the Foster family, it's still my favourite place. When the welcome, hospitality, rooms not to mention breakfast are just what you want, why would you change it? The b&b is at the top of the bank with parking. A few doors down is a family friendly pub that serves great food & has a little play area outside that my kids can never resist. This was our first visit in November and I must say I loved it. This place isn't just about the summer. Try it, I wonder if it will be your family favourite too?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Of course, this was our last night on the Coast to Coast. Callum greeted us and made us feel very welcome. He gave dinner recommendations and bus info for the next day. The room was well appointed and the bathroom very nice. It was close to town without being in the busy part. Rachel was helpful as she served us breakfast. An all round good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msl48335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

the b&b is owned and run by a couple with three young children, i was slightly worried at first that the children would be noisy in the mornings but we never heard them at all, the rooms were well set out and very clean and the porthole in the bathroom was a lovely quirky feature, the breakfast was lovely with a varied choice. apart from your room you only have use of the dining room as all other areas downstairs are private for the familys use, Its a great place to stay if you do just want a bed and some breakfast but if you like to sit and relax away from the bedroom before you go out in the morning or at night this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynsey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank- you for your comments we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but felt I need to resond to some of your statements. We are not a hotel, we are very similar to many of the other B&Bs in that we don't offer a guest lounge. Often extra facilites are reflected in the price at other establishments so to have the use of another room may mean you pay a higher tariff. The dining room is never closed so guests are welcome to come and sit in an armchair and relax if they do not want to sit in their room. (which some guest like to do). Also we only have 2 children and only 1 of them is very young.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed over the August bank holiday weekend and it was pleasant enough but I have now decided that bed and breakfasts are not for me. I miss the freedom that a holiday cottage or bigger hotel offers, we did feel that we were in the way and living in a strangers family home. The owners have a young family and it must be very difficult to juggle jobs, kids and guests but I found it very unsettling. There needs to be a guest living area as we found ourselves staying out as there was nowhere to sit and relax apart from your room. The rooms were OK, they were clean and had everything you needed but my god the bed was hard! It was like sleeping on wood planks.
Overall a nice house, a lovely couple, but not the right place for me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippydired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
826 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#15 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birtley House
Birtley House
#6 of 29 in Robin Hood's Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Bed & Breakfast

Address: Northcliffe Mount Pleasant North | Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: £64 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Northcliff Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast Yorkshire, UK - North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing