We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in order to give enough time to visit Beamish Open Air Museum and York both of which are not far away. We found it comfortable with pleasant and helpful staff. As our room was at the rear we were not bothered by any noise from the main road. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and evening meals which we found to be very good. The second night the restaurant was very busy and we were served very promptly with a reasonably priced meal which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear do not appear to suffer as much from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay and I am glad that you enjoyed your two night stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Darlington.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for one night to break up our journey. Allocated a lovely big room and really enjoyed the stay. We made use of the health club facilities when we arrived and also before we left the following day.

We didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food. Managed to get the RO deal for £44 for a Saturday night, which was a steal. The bed was really comfortable and had 6 pillows on it. A lovely flat screen telly on the wall. The room also had a fridge, which was perfect for keeping our fruit and yogurt for breakfast chilled.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotchMissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your comment and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Darlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

From the outside, the dark coloured bricks make it look a bit like a jail - it's actually a listed building so its appearance can't be changed - but once inside, then prepare to be very seriously surprised. This iconic hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard, preserving classic features like the wide central staircase, and with rooms of a size not found in modern buildings. The staff are welcoming and friendly without being intrusive, the food in both bar and restaurant is well presented and served in pleasant surroundings. And - on the night I stayed - the price I paid for an executive room was cheaper than the Travelodge across the road at the regular A1 services. Unlike other reviewers on here, I heard no disruptive traffic noise even though I had a room overlooking the road outside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay and however we are limited to what we can do to the exterior of the building but we are hopeful the flower beds and the Ivy will flower this summer.

Kind regards

Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived at the hotel in mid afternoon and where met with a very warm and friendly welcome from Amelia on the Reception Desk whose customer service skills where exemplary.
Our room was a King Size Executive Room on the first floor of the hotel we found to be extremely well furnished throughout. The room overlooked the front of the hotel and directly above the hotel entrance. Complimentary Internet Access is available to all hotel guests.
The hotels location is at the junction of the A66/A1 and an ideal stopping point for either visiting the area or stopping off on your journey. The hotel has only recently been rebranded and has been fitted out to a very high standard.
We enjoyed an excellent dinner that night in the very good Fratello`s restaurant and breakfast the following morning was equally enjoyable. The only downside to our stay came from the incessant noise during the night from the many heavy goods vehicles passing the hotel.
A room facing the rear of the hotel may not suffer the same traffic noise.
This hotel is an excellent addition to the Holiday Inn brand with customer service to match and we would have no hesitation in returning to stay again in the future as long as we could stay in a different part of the hotel. It is a shame that when they refurbished the hotel they did not consider some kind of soundproofing that would cut out the disturbance from traffic noise.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the rear of the hotel which might reduce any discomfort from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your resent stay, we are currently looking at installing additional glazing on front facing bedrooms to reduce traffic noise. once again thank you for leaving your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

On arrival we were not given any information such as breakfast times etc, we were not asked if we would like a hand with our suitcases as there were a number of stairs to our room. Walking to our room we were greeted with piles of dirty linen either side of the corridor. On entry to our room we could see that it had not been seviced properly. Complained to reception and were given another room. Rooms were clean and well decorated, beds were comfortable.

We were not told there would be a tribute band playing the night we were staying. Needless to say it was very noisy. Although it stopped at midnight the noise of guests who attended the band carried on until 5 or 6 in the morning. So no sleep that night! Insulation between the room and corridor is bad, however it is good between rooms.

Breakfast was a bit of a mixture with very nice fruit being served, however there were no rolls or croissants available on both mornings we were there. The coffee and tea was terrible. For what is meant to be a 4 star hotel its not good enough.

For 2 days the TV was not working. We were given £15 rebate for this. The lift was not working on the day we checked out.

The swimming pool was good.

The staff, on the whole were pleasant and helpful.

This is not a 4 star hotel more like 3 at the moment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technophobe804424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Dear technophobe804424,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here on route to our sons passing out parade at Catterick. We had two rooms booked for ourselves and brother. We were allocated a room that was no bigger than a cupboard, very small over looking the car park. When our brother arrived a few hours later and was allocated his room it was an executive large room, great for him but not very wel planned. There was only a small amount of tea and sugar in our cupboard, so we asked for more and were given a couple more. The two of us had a meal in the lovely resturant, which was very nice, staff were vert attentive although at times a little chaotic, but very pleasant.. My husband and his brother went to the bar and I retired to our room at about 10.30, the noise was awful, children and adults running around the long corridors, doors being slammed, even our door being knocked, I did complain but it made no difference. Breakfast the next morning was pleasant apart from a member of staff from the kitchen called Steve, I was told by other staff, who was rude and grumpy when asked by me politely if my bacon could be a little more cooked, I appreciate he was busy, but I was a paying guest. Most of the staff were great and another young who's named I failed to get was excellent. I did speak to reception on check out about the awful noise and poor service at breakfast and was meet with no response. Lovely hotel but I think that service should be on staff training.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Jane B,

As always we are glad to read feedback of the Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, England. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our hotel restaurant staff being attentive and pleasant.

We apologize for the noise during your stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We have just had a 4 night stay at the hotel, it was GREAT. Room was lovely, very big comfy big bed, air conditioning, fridge, big wet room.,Staff could not do enough for us, they were so nice. The breakfast and evening meal were very good value. Forget what the hotel used to be like Holiday inn has brought it upto a great standerd cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your resent stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
433 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
10.5 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing