We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stop over on route to and from Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A good stop over on route to and from Scotland”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We booked in to this hotel to break our first journey from Southampton to the Scottish highlands.and also for the return journey . Very nice hotel spotlessly clean . Comfortable room.nice to have the use of the swimming pool sauna steam room and jacuzzi, to un wind after the journey.
The swimming pool area did look very tired and a bit grubby ,looked as though it needed re decorating .the showers and changing area were clean .
The restaurant on our outward journey was a bit of a let down. We were staying on a bed breakfast and dinner tariff. You can choose 3 courses from a special set menu or have a £20 allowance per head off the main menu. We chose the set menu . That evening it was very disappointing, ,a weird shoulder of lamb concoction that looked a bit
Like dog food , very dry and hardly anything with it ,I had to ask for gravey as there was only a smear on the plate! On the return it was a different story,the food was very good, so maybe just an off night . Probably would do this again .

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and you had an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to constantly provide excellent service. I have passed on you comments regarding your meal and we are terrible sorry that this did not meet our normal high standards. I really hope that this has not deterred you from the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    263
    85
    32
    28
See reviews for
126
290
25
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

would like to really put this review on here about my recent encounter with this hotel , tried to phone reception several times on the first night never had my call answered for 15 minutes, second day phoned for a general quiery about upgrading again no answer for 20 minutes? aren't there enough reception staff and arnt they supposed to be there for the guest queries? telephone and face to face!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the service received from our reception staff. Kindly be advised that your comments have been noted and will be shared with the staff involved in the processes of taking the appropriate actions to rectify this instance.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback and my apologies for the shortcomings.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
460 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while travelling on business. The hotel was very neat and tidy and the staff very helpful and polite. When checking in discovered that we got a free newspaper and wifi connection which I thought was a nice touch considering the other holiday inns I have stayed in. The bar was very pleasant as was the restaurant albeit a limited menu. Price wise it is typical Holiday Inn as in not the cheapest but not the most expensive. Wifi was found to be a bit intermittent which could be down to the number of users.

Will stay again when in the area.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My family stayed here for my Nephews wedding over the late May bank holiday weekend, and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised, looking at the outside of the building gives no real indication of how nice it actually is inside. Firstly, the hotel as a venue, everything was faultless, the room was decorated beautifully, and just as the bride and groom had asked, the staff were friendly, helpful, attentive and very efficient, the meal was delicious, everyone commented on how smoothly things had been handled, from arriving mid afternoon, until the disco had finished in the early hours, and how the wedding co-ordinator (Mo) made sure everyone was taken care of. If any of my friends asked me for recommendations, I wouldn't hesitate to tell them about this Holiday Inn.
Secondly, the hotel as a place to stay, again I can't fault anything about it, from the airey and spacious lounge/bar, to the spotlessly clean rooms, the room I stayed in was compact, but had everything I required, a nice powerful shower, a firm bed, plenty of wardrobe space, and again absolutely spotless, we slept very well, and can't complain of any outside noise, my 80 year old Mother (who is a very light sleeper) was in a room on the opposite side of the hotel, and said she also had a very good, undisturbed sleep, and she was in bed by 10pm. The rest of my family (we had 9-10 rooms) all in different parts of the hotel, all agreed with us about everything i've mentioned. Then there was the breakfast, everything you could want, and plenty of it, all fresh, again there was nothing that was too much trouble for the staff.
In conclusion, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable function, or break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - It is great to read such lovely comments regarding the hotel, staff and service we provide!

We look forward to seeing you all in the future.

KInd Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is very conveniently placed at the junction at Scotch Corner and with good double glazing little or no traffic noise can be heard in the comfortable bedrooms. The staff were welcoming and the breakfast was good without being excellent. We arrived and had forgotten toothpaste but a supply was provided by reception. On the Friday evening a wedding reception was taking place in the function suite and the following morning we heard at breakfast that a guest sleeping in a room above the event were kept awake by the music so ensure that your bedroom is not located in that area of the hotel.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and the outside appearance is still austere which does not do the inside justice. There is an area for business meetings/chats which is separate from the bar and lounge which are very comfortable.The lounge staff were attentive and Sandra requires special mention for her ability to keep waiting customers happy and informed. We will use this hotel again because of its location as well has its comforts but also because of its cost effectiveness.

Room Tip: Avoid a bedroom above the function suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinclair45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and you had an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to constantly provide excellent service. I will pass on your lovely comments to Sandra.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

At first glance the Holiday Inn looks a bit dated from the outside, but once you get in there is a lot going for it. The interior has been fitted out to a high standard and is clean and welcoming.

We can't say enough good things about the staff, always smiling, helpful, and very customer orientated. The breakfast room staff were particularly welcoming and were very helpful.
Our double room was clean, quiet, and well fitted out.

We were only using the hotel as an overnight stop, but would have no hesitation in booking it for longer if we were visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great you hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in the king executive suite and were very impressed. We have stayed in more 'upmarket' hotels before and this was equally as nice if not nicer.

Huge and very comfortable bed. Room was massive, lovely bathroom and nice and clean.

Bar area lovely, although female staff a bit miserable.

Resteraunt was lovely and the managers were fantastic,very friendly and helpful

The health club is lovely also with great facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - It is a delight to read your comments regarding the quality of the hotel and our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing