We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First visit here”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 27th for 1 night to attend a wedding at nearby Middleton Lodge,Hotel has been refurbished to a good standard all rooms nice and modern with plenty of space,fridge in room with water and fruit juice at no cost,all staff from front desk to bars really polite and helpful, had food in the bar only but that was really nice and fresh,didn't have breakfast but was told by our friends that is was of good standard.Health club attached which you can you use free of charge. All in all great place to stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Darlington. I'm pleased to hear you has such an enjoyable stay with us. All our staff aim to provide the best possible service to our guests to ensure they have an enjoyable visit.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    263
    85
    32
    28
See reviews for
126
290
25
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Since I last stayed at this hotel it has become a Holiday Inn. As a platinum customer I had a room upgrade to a very comfortable executive room. Work meant that I arrived too late to want to eat but the restaurant looked better than before. A brief but very good stop over.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Examiner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit. It’s nice to hear you have returned to the hotel and now as a Holiday Inn you were able to benefit from being a part of our Priority Club.
We hope to see you again in the near future, perhaps for a longer stay where you can enjoy all the complimentary facilities we provide.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Really good experience at this hotel - rooms are freshly refurbished and quiet considering how close the A1 is. Breakfast is spot on and staff are really attentive. The Italian restaurant which is part of the hotel is one of the best I have been to and even the bar meals are a step above the regular meals. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit. I’m pleased to hear you had a good experience with us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed quite a few times now and other than the location, quite a way from anywhere really, there is not much to fault. The room are well decorated, spacious and clean. Bar area can get busy but the food in the bar is delicious. The Italian restaurant for the most part has good service and good food.

Nothing much better in the area and well worth a visit. Gym is good too, though if weather is typically North-Eastern you do have to venture outside to get to it.

I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. It’s great you hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the good food and service we provide. Unfortunately one of the downsides to our complimentary leisure facilities is that you do have to leave the hotel in order to gain access.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have recently returned from a stay here and felt the need to write a review (it's time ever).... One of the best hotels we have stayed in, staff are lovely and we'd return for the customer service alone (breakfast is a must .... ) great for families stays or any occasion.... Many thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay. It’s great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very pleasant stay in a sparkling hotel, good buffet-style breakfast (with full English!)

Hotel is well located by A1, convenient and quiet - ideal for business stop-over for 'road warriors'

Hotel looks to be have been completely refurbished, sparkling clean and 'Art Deco' features are very nice.

LOCATION
Convenient, practical and quiet

Close enough to A1 for travel, and lovely town of Richmond just a few miles away

SERVICE
Reception, breakfast, cleaners all positive and friendly

GASTRONOMY

Great breakfast, buffet-style but fresh, warm and filling

ROOM

Clean, fresh, with mini bar (complimentary kit kats, and fresh orange juice)

TIPS

Ideal for a 'road warrior' travelling to/from NE or cross-country, just looking to 'get their head down' and then be on their way next day, after a nice breakfast

Room Tip: I had an end of corridor room, so was very quiet (providing it's the 'edge of property'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback from your recent stay with us. At the Holiday Inn we aim to provide all our guests with a warm and welcoming stay. Thank you again for the comments on the hotel, staff and the facilities we provide in the hotel.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

My wife treated us to a night here as we enjoyed our visit in 2012. There was a wedding party in hotel but we were not disturbed in 134. We enjoyed our stay and drinks were not to dear in the bar. We ate in Fratellos which was great and a substantial breakfast was enjoyed on Sunday morning. Enjoyed both visits from friendly staff on reception bars and restraunt deserves the markings

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear your second visit was just as good as the first one and you were accommodated well by all the staff in the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing