We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a conference one Friday evening and was pleasantly surprised. Room was basic but very clean and there were nice toiletries, a mini bar and tea/coffee facilities.
Bathroom was modern but there was no hot water.
Food was nice. Staff were all friendly and efficient. Check in staff particularly friendly.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    273
    88
    35
    28
See reviews for
130
301
27
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Well priced, modern, easy access from the A1M and comfortable.

I stayed in one of the rooms facing one of the main roads running past the hotel, it's position is great but my room was a little susceptible to the rumblings of lorries throughout the night, I'd stay again but would simply ask for a room not on that side of the building.

The food was actually very good, exceeded my expectations, fresh and prepared to my preference.

I think this is a new holiday inn, or one that been refitted. It's got everything you want and need and I'll certainly be back due to it being so close to Darlington, it's well priced!

There's a gym opposite, it's a chain (I can't remember which) but there complimentary access, it's got everything you'd expect in a proper gym.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear the hotel accommodated to all your needs and even exceeded your expectations. Unfortunately some of our rooms are outside facing and although they are double glazing, we are unable to stop all the noise.
But I am pleased to hear this will not stop you from returning to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Only stayed one night - but really enjoyed it. Friendly and efficient Reception both checking-in and checking-out. Very good quality decor throughout. Excellent Executive room - large, comfortable and with a well appointed bathroom. Really pleasant surprise after a long days driving. Richmond nearby made for an enjoyable evening out. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any rooms away from the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you had such a enjoyable and relaxing experience.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

we visited scotch corner hotel nearly 42 years ago:just married.Only stayed for one day but the memory stayed with us.Hence our return.Things have changed,thats progress!However we were still pleasantly surprised.Hotel was clean,staff really friendly,food was fine and our upgraded room was excellent.We stayed for 3 nights and visited Richmond,Whitby,Durham and York all very enjoyable.Thanks to Holiday Inns

Room Tip: rooms at the back of hotel are quieter.executive room worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freespirirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn. It's lovely to hear that after all this time you returned to the hotel and had such an enjoyable stay with us,
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

A well positioned hotel from whee to move on in the morning. The food was ok but as I'd had veal I'd have expected a more tender cut. The service was good and the room functionally adequate...what a phrase! Nothing special but everything worked as you'd wish...some traffic noise can get in the way of a good sleep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank UnluckyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for leaving your comments on your recent stay with us. I appreciate the comments regarding your meal you had with us in Fratellos, this will be passed onto the head chef. But I am pleased to hear the service was up to standard. In regards to the traffic noise I do apologise that it may have disrupted your sleep, we are in the process of looking in triple glazing onto our rooms that face onto the motor way to try and stop any noise.
We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Decided to stay here as there was a Priority Club points break offer on at the hotel. The hotel is very impressive looking both inside and out and there is a leisure club next door and an Italian Restaurant on site. We were just using the hotel as a stop over so didn't have time to try either.
The receptionists were friendly and efficient and we got checked in quickly. we could have added breakfast to our deal for £10 each but as we wanted a quick departure next day we didn't bother.
We were a bit disappointed by the size of our bedroom which is the smallest we have ever had in a Holiday Inn but it was clean and adequate and we weren't paying cash for it so didn't expect the best room. There was free water, juice and kitkats in the fridge which was nice. We did experience noise from the heating system but not from the traffic.
There was free WIFI and the TV was a decent size. As we didn't eat there I can't comment on the food. Handy location especially for visiting Richmond which is a lovely old town with a castle and abbey to explore and lovely river walks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Darlington. Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to enjoy reward night. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I am sorry to hear that the room was not as big as you were expecting. All our rooms are an average standard size. We hope to welcome you back again when your be able to take advantage of our complimentary leisure facilities and our Italian Restaurant Fratellos.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Normally when visiting Richmond I stay in the town but on this occasion I opted for the Holiday Inn at Scotch corner. I was not disappointed, access and parking are excellent (not so in Richmond) and the interior was clean modern and very comfortable. The room was fairly compact as was the bathroom but it did not really detract from the stay. Lot of areas to relax in if you wish and a nice large bar for an evening drink. The restaurant seemed small for the size of the establishment although they seemed to cope OK with the service.

I arrived in time for the Sunday roast - I thought it was rather pretentious, roast is roast and whilst it is good to see food presented properly, I cannot say the 'Novo' cuisine style of presentation did much for me, but it was OK....Not quite how one expects Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding to be served! Breakfast is fantastic, hot plates hot food and a very good selection. Overall it was a very good stay, the food and staff are good, the establishment is clean, bright, well looked after and sensible rate are charged - yes I will go again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I’m pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
742 reviews
6.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing