We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently had our Golden Wedding Anniversary celebrations at this wonderful Hotel.Many of our Guests also spent one or two nights.EVERYONE commented on the excellence of the accommodation,including the spacious rooms,the extremely friendly staff[nothing was too much trouble] as well as the good quality buffet served on our evening "DO".The final great touch was the re-arrangement of the lounge so that all of us could have a"Full English" together,give our thoughts on the stay and say our fare wells.The D.J.[our son] was incredible but that`s another story.Finally the staff worked together well so that all our arrangements were satisfied including allowing our daughter`s"team"to decorate the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for leaving the hotel such a lovely review from your weekend with us. I am so pleased to hear everything went well for your special night and the staff went above and beyond to make sure the night was a huge success.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have just returned from a night in the holiday inn scotch corner. A very pleasant experience. We had booked a night to celebrate a friends wedding at a venue close to hotel.
From checking in the staff were a credit to the Hotel nothing was to much trouble for them, the room was pleasant (room 110) if not a little warm, but the sun was shining!
Would recommend the hotel to any visitor to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments towards our staff, our aim at the Holiday Inn Darlington is to deliver the best possible service to all our staff. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Budget price paid great room and stay. nice bed comfortable full TV services good helpful staff. breakfast was slightly pricey but good selection. easy access to main A1. Wifi is terrible unless you pay extra !

Room Tip: Try not to get a ground floor room, next to carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for the issues you had with the WiFi.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here again on a trip home to Scotland as the Mercure at Wetherby was fully booked, room was adequate, painfully slow and pointless wifi, breakfast was disappointing, meat products were over cooked and dried out on he hot plate, gave up waiting for fried eggs and tried the rubbery scrambled. This hotel could be run so much better, a new broom required?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly I’d like to apologise that your stay was not up to our usual standard. As a valued guest we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future to offer you the full Holiday Inn experience you would expect.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've been staying here on business regularly over the last few weeks and have been very impressed. The location is not exactly picturesque and the exterior looks a bit depressing but don't let this put you off. The interior has clearly been refurbished recently and the public areas are decorated in a modern, tasteful style. The rooms are spacious enough, clean, and again recently refurbished with lovely bathrooms and high quality finish. The food whilst not outstanding is of a high standard and reasonably priced. The adjacent leisure club (gym and pool) has a good quantity of decent exercise equipment and a pleasant environment. Staff have been consistently excellent, in terms of professionalism and friendliness.

I'm not sure where Darlington is in relation to the hotel, neither am I sure if you would have any reason to stay here if you're not travelling on business in the area (nothing against the hotel or the area, I just don't know). But I can't fault it, other than one detail, the free wifi download speed is terrible. Although compared to some other hotel chains, at least the wifi is free.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a really bad view - window onto a service entrance or similar. This doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you leaving us your comments regarding your stay with us. It’s great to hear that although you have been with us on in relation to business you still have enjoyed the hotel and the service we provide.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed one night here as a stopover on the way to Newcastle
airport and were pleasantly surprised by the standard we found.
Check in was quick and efficient and the decor was fresh and modern.
Had a nice room, with all you could want. Very comfortable bed with a pillow menu, I did order some more pillows and the receptionist whisked them up to me straightaway.
We had an evening drink in the bar area, which was well stocked, and there was bar food available had we required it.
We had no problem with traffic noise despite being near the road, and we had a pleasant view over the surrounding fields.
Unfortuantly we did'nt get time to go the pool.
Breakfast was lovely. A fantastic choice of hot/cold foods was available and we found the quality was excellent. Staff were efficient. My only gripe was they ran out of muffins (although we did witness 1 guest stuff 3 into her bag!), which could have caused the shortage in the first place!
Overall, very satisfied with our stopover, got a great deal and for the price it could'nt be beaten!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Our aim is to provide excellent and efficient service to all our guests.
We hope to welcome you to the hotel again; perhaps you will be able to enjoy our complimentary leisure facilities next time.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stopped here for a light lunch and a "loo" break on our way up to Newcastle. We were most impressed by the refurbishment and how the hotel has been transformed since our last visit a few years ago. From the outside it looks very average but once inside it is a very different story. The bright airy lobby is most welcoming. The "loo" was very lean and modern. We ordered 2 drinks (Lager shandy and a Fruit cordial, Ceaser salad with grilled chicken and a smoked salmon sandwich both were of excellent quality and generously proportioned. The Staff were very helpful especially the older lady who bought us the food, I cant remember her name but she told us she only worked at the weekend. She informed about the refurbishment and was very pleasant.
Lunch cost us £20 and we felt that it was great value as we were able to enjoy the food and an hours rest in a peaceful environment as opposed to a busy overcrowded and noisy motorway service station.
I can not recommend the place highly enough. Pop in and try it you will not b disappointed
We were so impressed that we will be staying there later in the year when we travel up to the Edinburgh Tattoo in August.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments on your visit to the hotel. Although you did not stay with us, it's great to hear you were impressed with the hotel and our services as a stop off point.
We hope to see you again on your next travels.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
432 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
10.5 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing