We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb for a holiday inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb for a holiday inn”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I wasn't expecting a lot from this hotel considering its on a main busy road and is a holiday inn, how wrong was I.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar area is very good with a great butter called black sheep on draught.
The rooms were a little small but modern and clean.
The breakfast was nice but a little cold as it had been standing a while.
For a business trip this hotel is bang on.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wbaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I would like to apologise for the issue with breakfast, your comments regarding the temperature of the food will be passed onto our head chef.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    263
    85
    32
    28
See reviews for
126
290
25
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

5 star service with breakfast only £74 a night, amazing food top quality rooms and very classy. Staff were so friendly and wanted to give you the best experience they could nothing was too much trouble. Many choices of food & drink, an experience I won't forget all in all everything was perfect :) loved wish I could of stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you leaving the hotel such a lovely review, it's great to hear you had such a great stay with us and the staff did everything they could to make you feel comfortable and relaxed throughout your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here in the last weekend of May. The hotel is newly renovated and is very attractive. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean and spacious - enough space to store our tandem overnight. The room had a fridge which was stocked daily with complimentary water and fruit juice, and the toiletries were replenished daily. We ate in the hotel one night and the food (sandwiches) were very good.

But, the bed was like a rock. We managed a few hours sleep on the first night probably due to the long drive up from the Channel but the second and third nights were unbearable, even after long bike rides in the Dales. Spoke to the desk staff who offered to inspect the mattress, as if it were faulty, but being hard is obviously a design feature. Additionally the bed was only a double which meant repositioning throughout the night was a further disturbance. I would have thought that, as the hotel is newly refurbished, king-size beds would be the norm as there was certainly enough space.

The room had a barely-breathing air-con which struggled to cool the room after the flatscreen TV had been on for a few minutes.

The mattress aside, the hotel is certainly value for money given it's proximity to the Dales and Moors but I'll think twice before staying here again. Shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatliner3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Darlington. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered with the mattress in your bedroom, we do have 2 types of rooms in the hotel, our standard double and also executive rooms that do have a king size bed. I am sorry to hear you did however find this mattress uncomfortable. The issues you have mentioned in regards to the air con is much appreciated and this will be looked into to make sure it is functioning correctly.
I am pleased that over than a few minor issues this did not stop you from enjoying your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We often stay here, even though they are having work done in the reception, it didn't disturb us. We had dinner in the restaurant, a new member of staff was extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The bedrooms are very large and very comfortable with great facilities. Thank you our stay is always very good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazdaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay and although the hotel was having a small amount of work done around the front of house area this did not disrupt you in anyway.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley
Level Contributor
250 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This Hotel looks good on the outside and is good on the inside. The room was well designed and the bathroom efficient. Your choice of pillows makes for a good nights sleep. We ate In the Italian restaurant in the Hotel in the evening. This was expensive, but hey where else can to go when your are in the middle of the A1. The food was OK. We booked room only as the breakfast rate was over the top price wise, so clever tip, by a Croissant the night before from the nearest services, put it in the fridge in the room and have that for breakfast. It worked for us. One bad point was that 2 of the light bulbs in our room did not work. We told reception the next morning and asked why the room cleaners had not told housekeeping. The reply was, they don't speak English. We had tried to speak to one Lad and he did not understand us and could not reply.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay. I’m pleased to hear you did have an enjoyable stay. Although we have tried to accommodate to all our guests by offering a variety of food choices within the hotel, my apologises that you felt the Italian was a little over priced. I would also like to apologise for the issues in your room regarding the light bulbs, this should have been dealt with as soon as the issue was reported.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath and Reach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as our usual hotel in the area was fully booked. What a find. There isnt anything negative to say. Reception were pleasant. There was a wedding happening that evening, and they put us as far from it as possible. A drunken guest happened to be our neighbour and left his tv on, blaring (Think we've all done it at somr point in out lives). Phoned the night staff and the night manager sorted it immediately. Couldn't ask for more. Breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blackdog2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Darlington. It's lovely to hear you had a pleasant stay. I would like to apologise for the disturbance from another hotel guests, however I am glad to hear the staff dealt with the situation immediately for you.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very handy hotel to A1 when travelling. Good quality Holiday Inn, outside brick building iconic from when situated on the roundabout, but very modern on the inside, and tastefully decorated in a contemporary style. However the star of the show is the Italian Restaurant Fratello's. Food was excellent and the staff were really good

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggg782014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us in the hotel. All your comments regarding the restaurant staff will be passed on, it's great to hear they delivered a great service throughout your stay.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing