We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is great if you are just wanting a standard room, no frills. It is clean, cheap and the full English breakfast was delicious.
I give it five stars as they allowed us to check in considerably early and the staff were very catering to all our needs.

Room Tip: We didn't check out the spa. Standard double bed rooms are small in size but I didn't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us your lovely comments from your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, as I had meetings in Darlington and Leeds. Very clean rooms, staff friendly and helpful. Leisure centre attached ( wish I brought my trunks) free wifi not many hotel offer that these days. Food in bar excellent

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a130atr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and have always been impressed with the standard of the room. All times our room has been too hot even with no heating on, the bathrooms have been well decorated and clean in each of the rooms we've stayed in. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and help yourself, staff were friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Each time we have stayed here there has been a function on, and thats when the bar runs slow, due to people attending the function using the hotel bar. The lounge is decorated to suit the building and makes a very pleasant area to sit and "lounge".
We used the pool, sauna and steam room, these have just been refurbished and are excellent and very clean.
The only gripe i have is check in is extremely slow - other holiday inn's dont seem to have this problem, but each time we stayed check-in took a good 5-10 minutes and the staff seem a bit flustered with lots of paperwork to sort for each person ?
Definitely stay here again, one of the nicer holiday inns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angef477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review from your recent visit to the Holiday Inn. I'm pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. I have taken on board your comments in regards to the slow check out procedure, we are currently training new front of house staff, this may have been the reason for the delay.

Again thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

what can I say? we booked this hotel as its half way between Scotland and our destination. im very glad I did! not great looking from exterior but as soon as the door opens...wow! Deco style but with modern touches, staff excellent, friendly and welcoming. room spotless with aircon included! I was actually looking for a fault so mark it down!! Italian restaurant on site which is incredible!! again staff amazing. breakfast ok self service. I would definitely stay here again! we looked on the way back but car park was full!

Room Tip: book early to get a better room. huge car park so no parking issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,121,874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your stay with us. It’s great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you again when your next on your travels.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I remember staying here before the Holiday Inn took it over and it was a bit grubby and lacking investment. Now it's spotless, well run and an ideal place to stay if you're working in the area. The restaurant is fine for my tastes and there's an amazing pub/restaurant across the roundabout in Middleton Tyas called the Shoulder of Mutton.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvorD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Darlington. I’m pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

To clarify, from the off, i'm a platinum priority club member so i stay in a lot of Holiday Inns.
I'll be brief....
I don't like this Holiday Inn.
The rooms, although superficially nice, are freezing cold, even in the middle of summer. I turned the 'aircon' up to 30 deg C to try and get a bit of warm air into the room but he fan still just blew cold air around. There is no heating in the bathroom - not even a heated towel rail. This will be DREADFUL in the winter.
The wifi was NON- EXISTENT in the room - slow to connect and continual drop outs.
The service in the bar was very slow.
The staff, particularly at breakfast, were quite frankly rude and unhelpful .How difficult is it to offer someone a cup of coffee without being asked!?
Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzzbox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay. Firstly I would like to apologise that your stay with us at the Holiday Inn was not up to the normal standard you would expect.
I have taken on board on your comments in regards to the air conditioning unit in your room and that is being looked at by our maintenance team. I am sorry to hear that you did experience issues in regards to the complimentary Wi-Fi we offer our hotel guests, this connection we offer should work sufficiently with your basic internet needs. I would also like to offer my sincere apologises for your experience at breakfast, this is being looked into.
I do hope sometime in the future you will choose to stay with us again and we can offer you the full Holiday Inn experience you would expect.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a one night stay at the Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner, took the online option for Upgraded Room and were given a corner Executive Room, very nice size with ensuite bathroom. As this Hotel is right on the A1 the traffic noise can be intrusive but the Hotel and its facilities were very good. Bar prices very reasonable for a Hotel too. Lovely breakfast with all you can eat and more. Very pleasant receptionist and staff, would definitely stay there again when travelling.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy due to A1 traffic, not sure what rear rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusDanielFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
147 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
430 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
10.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing