We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed one night here at Scotch Corner, as a stop over for a wedding nearby. We expected a budget style ok hotel given the price we paid and location. But what we actually found was a beautifully appointed 5 star hotel ! The decor was opulent, spacious and gorgeous, obviously the " revamp " made the most of a lovely high ceiling building.
Couldn't fault it ! The little touches , such as a requested put up bed for our granddaughter, plus a complimentary Kit Kat and drink for her, really made us feel welcome. The staff were attentive, warm and friendly , couldn't do enough for us. A lovely stay ! Big thank you to all.

Room Tip: We asked for a room to fit an extra put up bed in and it was huge ! Described as an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us your lovely comments, I'm pleased to hear you both had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Here at the Holiday Inn Darlington our aim is to provide the best possible experience for all our guests.

Again thank your for your review.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    251
    78
    31
    26
See reviews for
119
279
23
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here twice in 4 days. First night got given an upgrade to an Executive Room which was very quiet and spacious. Second time no offer of upgrade, room was ok and the window opened. The hotel has a lovely staircase and as previously stated by other reviewers is clean and the hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Only had bar meals which were tasty and reasonably priced - didn't have the breakfast as we wanted to get on the road once awake. Had no difficulty parking. Would certainly stay again and next time hope to get there early enough to have a meal in the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments from your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay here at the Holiday Inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner is by far one of the nicest places I've stayed for a long time. The hotel is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The lady on check in was extremely pleasant and very helpful, the room itself was fabulous, very comfortable with a choice of pillows and a lovely bathroom. We are at Fratello's restaurant in the hotel and can't recommend it highly enough. Both the service and the food was faultless. A very enjoyable overnight stay, shame I couldn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments, it's great to hear you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay. At the Holiday Inn Darlington we pride ourselves on delivering our guests the best possible hotel experience.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I opted to stay here on business. I love the art deco interior design to the hotel. The onsite restaurant is great quality and excellent value for money. I have recomended this hotel to colleagues who also enjoyrd their stay. My only watch out it the parking system on site. I followed the instructions at reception but still recieved a ticket 2 weeks after my stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CDS240490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I would like to apologise for the parking fine you received during your visit. If you have not already, please do contact the hotel and we can get that cancelled for you.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gran17
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel to break a journey south, foyer and interior decor very nice indeed, nothing tatty or shabby about this place, we had room 102 which overlooked the car park but road noise was not a problem, sparkling clean room, room lovely and spacious, bed very comfy, lovely large bathroom, everything you need in room, including slippers & bathrobe,staff all so helpful & friendly ~ child friendly also. Visited the swimming pool with child and they loved it, great changing rooms so if you are having an overnight stay pop your swimming gear in your overnight bag, towels provided nice hairdressing salon in pool/spa complex, staff at complex also lovely and friendly and very helpful, why not enjoy a refreshment at the cafe bar after your swim, very nice indeed !! Had dinner in Italian restaurant, steak pie was delicious, served with hand cooked chips ~ a veg would have been nice, husband had the gammon steak and the trimmings which he thoroughly enjoyed and the kids meal was spot on, would have liked to have seen more british options on the menu{ even though it is Italian}, breakfast was good, serve you self and as much as you can eat, really great varied choices, the nutella and mini pastries went down a treat, staff all so nice in breakfast room and ever so attentive and helpful, all in all a really pleasant stay and a refreshing break on our long journey, could have stayed there a week!!! So relaxing, will most certainly visit again.

Room Tip: our room was facing road but road noise was not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, I'm delighted to hear you and your family had such a fantastic stay with us. Hopefully next time you visit you will be able to stay with us for longer.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way up to Scotland and we were pleasantly surprised at how good the hotel is. We have driven past this hotel many times on our trips North and always thought that it looked pretty uninspiring but the recent refurbishment has produced a really good option to break the long journey.
We had an executive king room which was large and comfortable and overlooked the car park but I think that this meant we had a quiet night as there is no road noise. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant downstairs and, again, we were pleasantly surprised at how good our meal was.
The only slight disappointment was the quality of the breakfast which is served in the restaurant. It's no worse than any other Holiday Inn but we think it could be a more inspiring offering for those who don't want a fry-up.
Overall though we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Probably best to choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise from the busy A1/A66 jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoneypennyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, I'm pleased to hear you were impressed with the hotel and we were able to cater to you all needs. I have taken on board your comments in regards to the breakfast and I appreciate them.

Again thank you for all your comments and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
223 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

When we stayed there in 2008 it was the Scotch Corner Hotel. At that time the service was up to mark and I am sure it has improved further since the Name change. Meals were tasty. I hope to visit some time again to enjoy the surrounding beauty.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lionel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
3.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing