We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I'll start with the two bad bits......

1) Arrived and found that my booking did not exist. Showed them the reference number on my IHG app and they then realised that it had been cancelled in error by the hotel at 0930 that morning. Apologies and room given. Did not have a problem with it, but thank goodness the hotel wasn't full.
2) Problem with bathroom - a small leak. Called reception and explained and within 5 minutes the manager appeared with a key for another room and a drinks voucher. Good service, to be honest.

The hotel is quite old but the rooms are big and recently refurbished. Quiet as well, with a nice bar area and decent enough restaurant.

Will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay with us, firstly I’d like to apologise for the issue you encountered while checking in, but I am pleased to hear the staff were able to correct this efficiently. Also in regards to the minor issue in your room, our maintenance team have now fixed the problem.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    275
    88
    37
    28
See reviews for
130
302
27
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This landmark hotel was a dump in every way a few years ago - what a transformation!! Really trendy decor, exceptional service and I really enjoyed the food. Rooms ok, surprisingly quiet if you consider that's its adjacent to the A1 - would definitely recommend depending on price you pay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your comments on you recent stay with us, it’s great to hear how impressed you are with the refurbishment of the hotel and the experience you had while staying with us.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had booked and paid in advance for a three day break to do a bit of north east sightseeing for the bank holiday weekend. When we arrived the reception was not the smiley welcoming one that you may expect when you arrive at a hotel. We booked an executive room and breakfast was included in the booking. The receptionist said that breakfast was not included but we could pay extra if we wanted it so we showed our receipt and then she altered it in the system. When we opened the door to our room ( 112) you could immediately sense a very bad smell in the room. It smelt like sewage. Obviously not the smell that you would like to spend the night with. We complained to the reception who first said that we could have a twin room but then said there were no twin rooms, only ordinary sized but being six foot three I don’t fit into a normal sized bed. The following day we said that we would be happy to move to another executive room, but none were available so we asked for our money back for the next two nights and the manager did not hesitate. There was no argument about the smell of sewage in the room. The younger less experienced receptionist pointed out that you cannot have the return of a pre-paid room as it is in the terms and conditions, but thankfully the more experienced and very nice manager realised that it wasn't about that was it? We did Durham Cathedral and Newcastle town centre and went home to near Manchester. Whereas the Hotel looks the part and we were probably just unlucky to have stumbled across a potential deep structural fault which is causing a sewage smell to seep into this room which obviously needs investigating, we were surprised that they didn't really care about this or our overall view of this wrecked weekend and therefore the need for us to tell you about it and to avoid this room until they fix the problem.

Room Tip: avoid 112 please until they have sorted out the problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Messmytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Firstly I would like to offer my sincere apologises for the issues you encountered while stay with us, it is not the intention of the hotel to cause any distress or discomfort to our guests. The issues regarding your room is something we were not aware of and I can only apologise that you were put into a room that was not up to the standard. I am pleased to hear that our duty manager acted immediately in regards to fully refunding your stay for you. The room is now currently being worked on and is out of use in the hotel.

Again my apologises that your weekend was effected by the issues in the hotel.
I do hope this has not put you off the hotel for the future, we would like to welcome you back again to offer you the full Holiday Inn experience you would expect.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a unexpected stop.

Reasonably priced and comfortable, clean room with a pretty good restaurant on the ground floor. The staff were great with the kids, helpful and efficient.

Thank you for a bright end to a nightmare of a day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GJH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent stay, I'm pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stopped over here on our way north. Located on the A1 roundabout at Scotch Corner so easy to find. Not an attractive building from the outside but plenty of parking. Excellent value even though we only booked a few days in advance. Room size was adequate for one night and included a fridge and safe. Bathroom was OK although the lighting wasn't great and the bath clearly hadn't been cleaned properly. We arrived late so didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar was a welcome sight with plenty of seating and good service. Breakfast was well organised, with a good choice of freshly cooked food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us. I'm glad you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

On the A1M at A66 junction - great location. Now refurbished and pretty good. Plenty of parking, great choice of food in bar as well as restaurant. Rooms very acceptable - nothing special but all you need. Great value, either as an en route stop or a base for a couple of days. Leisure centre is separate - across the car park. We didn't try it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eroucrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay, I'm pleased to hear the hotel was suitable for your needs and you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back again where you can enjoy our complimentary leisure facilities.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when I came to visit my boyfriend. The room was very clean and everything worked. The bed was large and very comfy and the choice from soft and firm pillows was a nice touch. Great big TV for evening time when we were relaxing and another nice touch was the complimentary water, orange juice and Kit Kat. I was very happy with my stay and will definitely be back if I'm near the area again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank awesome90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Darlington. It's great to hear you had such a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing