We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowleth End
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Swaledale
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yorebridge House(Bainbridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
58
22
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
22
6
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the end fo January. We had a double room with separate bathroom across the hallway - including jacuzzi bath which was perfect after 5 hours out on the hills in the snow.
Our room was small but perfectly adequate and we found it comfortable and quite warm enough. The evening meal was served to all guests at a couple of shared dining tables and this was sociable and pleasant - however, if you want just to spend time as a couple it may not suit you. We found the food tasty and wholesome - there was good choice and Roger was happy to accommodate specific requirements. He does not claim to be a chef - he is certainly an excellent home cook.
The house has great information on local walks and even had maps, spare walking poles, umbrellas etc to borrow which was is a great addition. We would happily stay again

Room Tip: The room with the jacuzzi bath is not en suite - the bathroom is just across the corridor - which was fine for us but others may prefer an ensuite arrangement
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay (Feb 2012) and had a very nice time. We were in room 2 (as was Helen H in previous review) and yes, the shower room is small but nicely decorated, clean and has all the toiletries you may need and more. The bed was large and comfortable, the room was warm (and it snowed during our stay!) and the supply of various hot and cold drinks/biscuits was very good. We enjoyed sharing our evening meal and breakfast time chatting with the other friendly guests - if you want to stay in a sterile and unfriendly environment, keeping yourself to yourself, then don't visit Roger's home!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed 1 night recently and told Roger, (owner) we would try to return again during the summer. A lovely house full of beautiful art deco pictures and furnishings. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a delicious home made 4 course dinner and a full English breakfast. We also enjoyed chatting over meals with the other guests. The draft Yorkshire ale hit the spot too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Reading the website & looking at the pics we expected sheer luxury & as quoted "the best available room at the time of booking". When we made the booking room 5 (luxury suite) was available yet we got room 2, smaller than it appeared on the photo and the "luxury bathroom" was like a cupboard. You had to turn sideways when sat on the loo so you didn't burn yourself on the radiator. Note, however, this was probably the warmest part of the room as all the radiators are preset to 19.5 degrees and on asking for this to be increased we were told "my heating bill is over £5000 a year". Errr hello we paid to stay here and its January and below freezing outside!!!! We did find out who was occupying room 5 for the weekend...the owner..although on all the literature it stated that he slept in a room on the ground floor.

Plus points...the area is lovely and the food was good but....don't expect a menu choice, you are told what you are having for dinner and only stay here if you want to share your dining table with all the other guests who are in residence at the time. Making small talk at breakfast with a table full of strangers was not our idea of fun!

We also had to complain that our room was not serviced on the Saturday and so we ran out of toilet roll and the fresh milk for drinks turned to cheese!

If you are wanting a peaceful break and like the idea of feeling like you are somebody's house guest for the weekend then this is the place for you but if like us you want your weekend to be just that... YOUR'S.... then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here on a great value January deal. Roger was very generous with his hospitality and all round provision without being intrusive. Meals were cooked to a very high standard and the puddings were especially good. We were introduced to two very good complementary Yorkshire wines and also enjoyed the local beers he stocked.
Our room provided everything we needed with some thoughtful additions.
We would certainly go back to Rowleth End.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susananne_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews