We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly escape!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swaledale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kearton Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Heavenly escape!”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Fantastic hospitality and wonderful hotel with scrumptious food set in an idyllic peaceful olde- worde village!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Called in for lunch on a drive thro the Dales lovely place delicious food and great service
Didn't stay here but spoke to a couple who told us the rooms were lovely

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollycatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My Husband booked us in the Kearton as a Birthday treat for us both. It was the perfect place. The location is wonderful along with the food and accommodation and the staff were very friendly, helpful and always available when needed. We loved it so much we have booked in again for our Anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin9950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2011

19 members of our walking group stayed over a weekend in March, the hotel was clean, staff friendly and food very good, excellent value for money.
Ian was very accommodating when trying to arrange a group weekend- all had a good time, I am sure we will revist.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelabryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My wife and two friends stayed at the Kearton Country Hotel in October 2010.

The hotel has an excellent website but the reality is slightly differant, and we felt that the hotel lacked the friendliness and warmth we were led to expect.

The location is beautiful in a very small hamlet in Swaledale. Excellent parking at the back of the hotel. Very quiet at night.

The hotel has been modernised and lacks any form of warmth in the guest lounge, i.e. there is no fire or centre focal point,..just modern furniture.

The restaurant has quite tightly packed tables,..but the tables tops are well laid out.The food is excellent. Can be chilly in this room - take a sweater with you! The portions of food are very generous and professionally served.

Good choice on the menu and small but adequate range of wines available at very reasonable cost.

The rooms are fairly small but adequate, and again modern. Bathrooms are shower cubicle and toilet. The washbasin (again very modern) was in the room. Plenty of hot water but the shower was quite weak,..but again,..perfectly adequate.

The small bathroom was unheated and abit chilly in winter.

The rooms was possibly abit chilly too, although has a decent radiator which is useful to hang towels on to dry.

I found the bed quite hard and uncomfortable. I seemed to bottom the mattress out quite easily. However,..my wife was fine and so were our two friends. I still claim it was not a nice soft bed.

Some rooms on back of hotel in a form of annex and may have no view of the hillside. Check when booking. The front of the hotel is quiet and not much traffic.

Adequate tea/coffee facilities in the room.

No shampoo or things like that; soap dispensers to sink and shower

The bar is modern and quite small. This is not a pub type bar,..and we did not use this. Black Sheep was available with respect to beers.

Breakfast quite small in te morrning but has lovely free-range eggs. Generous supply of toast and marmalades. Very adequate start to the day here. Ask for warm milk for coffee or this may not be very warm.

Small pub about 4 minutes drive away (Farmers Arms) in Muker which is very good.

This is a good hotel for walking within Swaledale.

About 20 minutes drive to the north is the Tan Hill Arms (well worth a visit) and is the hishest pub in England. Good beers and meals around an open (but small) peaty fire.

In conclusion,....we were disappointed that the owners were seldom to be seen and the hotel lacked any atmosphere. We suspect the owners were hard at work in the kitchen and the food as stated, is pretty good.

Regretfully although the hotel is excellent value.... especially one of the two/three day breaks,....we would not stay again. I think it could be pretty boring for a husband and wife alone. However,..the hotel was busy mainly with older couples,.. so something is right .

There is no TV in the rooms,..or radio. Also no mobile / internet reception in the area. Leave the hotel number if you wanted to be informed of something.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My family and i have been visiting the Kearton for over twenty four years now. We are now taking the third generation. The welcome, food and comfort can not be beaten anywhere and believe me I have stayed in a couple of five star Hotels recently that could do with learning some lessons from the Dantons and their staff.
No TV, radio, newspapers or signal on the mobile who could ask for more. If you want good value, excellant food and good company as well as suberb walking and mountain biking this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wethreenortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My wife and I with two friends visted the Kearton Country Hotel in August 2010. We stayed two nights on a DBBB basis at £44.50pppn. We had planned our stay as a get away from it all walking holiday. From the monent we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, our room was a double with en-suite shower room. The room was clean and comfortable with a wonderfull view of the yorkshire dales.

the menu for our evening meal contained 4 or 5 choices of starter and 5 or 6 main courses. I had prawns with rice to start and chicken breast wrapped in bacon with spinach and cheese filling. Everything was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented including the accompanying vegtables. The desserts were superb with a wide selection, we all chose differently and sampled spoonfulls of each dessert, all were delicious and the presentaion was first class.

The breafast was very good, full english made with local swaledale products. After breakfast we needed a long walk in the dales to burn off all the extra calories.

The dinner meal on the second night was equally as good as the previous night and it was very apparent that the chef had great skills and took immense pride in the food he produced.

Overall we all enjoyed our stay at the Kearton, the staff were all courteous and helpfull throughout, the hotel is great value for money with excellent food and servive and suited us just fine allowing us to enjoy a peaceful quiet break with beautifull swaledale to explode right on the doorstep.

David West Durham

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
4.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.3 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
218 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearton Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearton Country Hotel

Property: Kearton Country Hotel
Address: Low Row, Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Swaledale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing