We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
99
34
11
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
34
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room biscuits owners and staff look forward to our next visit tea shop small hotel meal times home baked tiny village lovely place stayed for nights night stay hot chocolate large bathroom wonderful stay bar area wendy
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I recently was driving through Swaledale and we came across the Kearton Country Hotel on a bleary, rainy day. We stopped for a cup of tea and the most gorgeous scones. The people were really friendly and you felt like you were sitting comfortably in someone's lounge room enjoying the warmth. It's a gorgeous little place to come across and I'm happy I did. So thanks all the way from Australia!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank exploragal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We didn't stay there but our party of 6x2 nights thought dinner was really good, especially the baked cod, pork loin and black pudding starter. Reasonable priced wine, well kept Black Sheep bitter. Service was OK

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank philbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in 2010 ourselves and friends stayed for 4 nights recently and again could not fault anything about it. The owners and staff are really friendly, the food is excellent and the hotel is in a handy location for walking on the moors. We had a lovely break and this hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Telfordbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

First thing to say about this hotel is if you like your mod cons ie: wifi, satellite tv, spa bath etc then head into the valleys. However you'll miss the fresh air and the silence that this quintessential Yorkshire Dales hamlet has to offer. The waterfall that cascades into the river running a few yards from the hotel is a focal point for a pre-prandial wander between the stone cottages. The staff at this efficiently run hotel seem to do everything and appear not to sleep, up to serve you at dinner and breakfast respectively. The food is excellent and great value. The rooms as indicated are adequate although our bed was not the most comfortable - probably not an issue for seasoned walkers who've earned their sleep. One word of warning, there is no mobile signal in the village and the pay phone in the BT callbox outside doesn't accept coins although there is a pay phone in the hotel which is accessible overnight (which I could have done with knowing before embarking on a seven mile drive to make an urgent call at five in the morning - so an information folder in the room would have been useful). This is not a major gripe though and shouldn't detract from what is a nice play to stay in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathbychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had tea and scones (plain with jam and cream, and cheese with Wensleydale cheese and chutney), in the tea rooms here whilst walking in the area. A lovely place, very good menu, lovely food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyball100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews