We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
98
34
11
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
34
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roombiscuitsowners and stafflook forward to our next visittea shopsmall hotelmeal timeshome bakedtiny villagelovely placestayed for nightsnight stayhot chocolatelarge bathroomwonderful staybar areawendy
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here one night with my wife, while walking the coast to coast. The rest of the group were staying in Keld and this was the closest accommodation that could fit us in. I found the reception, by whom I presume to be the owner Mrs Danton, to be frosty. The rooms were reasonably well appointed, although the shower door was loose and I cut my toe while stepping out.

Mrs Danton served breakfast on her own, which considering there was at least thirty people eating, was quite remarkable. The breakfast was served efficiently and was very good, although needless to say served without a smile. The room was £10 dearer than any other accommodation used during the two weeks walking Coat to Coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelierRichmond, Owner at Kearton Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

This review is totally wrong I object to my Wife being called a frosty as the client got it all wrong he presumed that it was Mrs Danton that served him at check in and at Breakfast as she is not involved Front of House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here frequently and always find it to be brilliant! The people are very friendly, the bedrooms are en suite and very comfortable with TVs and the breakfast and dinner are delicious! Well worth visiting! The views are wonderful. Thwaite is a lovely village:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Having stopped for coffee earlier this year and been impressed, we decided to have a two night break in this country hotel at the western end of Swaledale. God decision. Friendly, efficient and unfussy service. Pleasantly decorated room with beautiful mountain view. Dinner was a little earlier than we would normally expect but there was an extensive range of dishes for each course and the food was excellent. Reasonable wine list. Traditional English breakfast was cooked to order and was fine. Overall good value and an enjoyable stay at this small country hotel in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Trapped in an earlier decade this place feels like it has lost its way and it seems to be run on a shoestring - memories of TV Crossroads came flooding back. Whilst the views from the car park are beautiful the outside seating area needs a wash and brush up. Inside it feels dated and being herded in to the lounge to order the evening meal between 6.30pm and 7pm was a step too far - and we weren't tempted by the joys of 'a tower of black pudding on a bed of oyster noodles'. On the food front, breakfast showed signs of microwave reheating. The hotel has been for sale - the new owners would need to make a major investment but it does have tremendous potential.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the extractor flue without a view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelierRichmond, Owner at Kearton Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

your comments have been taken on-board I would like to stress that we do not use Microwave Cooking we have made investment in our kitchen with high tech Rational Ovens hence no need for microwave and the need for extraction Fans which are law.Justifies the 5 star rating from the environment of health.My understanding the clients did not dine with us instead went to the local Pub two miles away. Black pudding is on the menu along with six other starters.Regarding outdoor seating these are washed on a daily basis but you must appreciate our business is located in a rural environment with abundance of wild life the clients did not arrive till late afternoon Regarding the interior decor I fail to comment future clients are welcome to take a virtual tour and make there own judgement on the decor.


Ian Danton owner partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A group of us stayed for 3 nights in June. The staff were welcoming and helpful from the start.
Our room was large and had en suite toilet and shower. The hotel was clean throughout. Evening meal was included and with 3 courses it was always a high standard. Everyone tried something different and settled on their own preference. The wines were a good selection too. Dinner, and breakfast,are served for everyone at the same time so you would possibly have to book if you wanted to eat and were not staying.
Breakfast was again a high standard with the usual options plus the offer of more toast & tea etc.
The village itself is tiny and typically picturesque and you can sit out front to enjoy it.
There is ample parking to rear, with further seating at the foot of the lovely hillside scenery.
There is no mobile reception, but there is a payphone. Wifi was free so those equipped to use it were ok.
The bar had a selection of cask (black sheep) lagers (1 Italian & 1 Czech), cider, Guinness etc and a good selection of malts and spirits.
We all enjoyed the stay, despite the weather and all agreed we would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuzziCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews