We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has it just right.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swaledale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kearton Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed one night - walking the Pennine Way. This hotel is a gem - excellent beer and food, comfortable modern rooms and friendly, slightly eccentric but very genuine non-stuffy service.
Friendly welcome when we arrived and good tea and coffee. The menu range and delivered quality of the evening meal was excellent and the timing was just right - in a place like this the evening meal is the main event so you don't want to rush! Equally breakfast the next morning was of far better quality than some other hotels - they clearly don't skimp on the quality of bacon, sausages etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

stayed here for 1 night dinner, bed breakfast. Found it to be very clean with good service. The quality of food was well above average with good choice on menu. Comfortably furnished, the stay here was most enjoyable. Very quiet no passing traffic noticed during the night.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bikeriderneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights August Bank Holiday weekend. A peaceful, relaxing setting with stunning views. A great base for walking and outdoor 'stuff'. Some great wildlife including Stoats, Red Squirrels, Kingfisher, Deer, Dippers and a number of raptors. Nice to be away from the internet and phones for a few days - Excellent food, good accommodation and friendly service. Thank you Ian and staff. Hope to be back soon. G&A.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MungoSeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have paid yet another visit and find food, staff and accommodation as good as always.
We do not want TV's and mobile phone reception. We just enjoy the peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle and this is what you get. Keep up the good work folks!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tworovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here one night with my wife, while walking the coast to coast. The rest of the group were staying in Keld and this was the closest accommodation that could fit us in. I found the reception, by whom I presume to be the owner Mrs Danton, to be frosty. The rooms were reasonably well appointed, although the shower door was loose and I cut my toe while stepping out.

Mrs Danton served breakfast on her own, which considering there was at least thirty people eating, was quite remarkable. The breakfast was served efficiently and was very good, although needless to say served without a smile. The room was £10 dearer than any other accommodation used during the two weeks walking Coat to Coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelierRichmond, Owner at Kearton Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

This review is totally wrong I object to my Wife being called a frosty as the client got it all wrong he presumed that it was Mrs Danton that served him at check in and at Breakfast as she is not involved Front of House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here frequently and always find it to be brilliant! The people are very friendly, the bedrooms are en suite and very comfortable with TVs and the breakfast and dinner are delicious! Well worth visiting! The views are wonderful. Thwaite is a lovely village:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Having stopped for coffee earlier this year and been impressed, we decided to have a two night break in this country hotel at the western end of Swaledale. God decision. Friendly, efficient and unfussy service. Pleasantly decorated room with beautiful mountain view. Dinner was a little earlier than we would normally expect but there was an extensive range of dishes for each course and the food was excellent. Reasonable wine list. Traditional English breakfast was cooked to order and was fine. Overall good value and an enjoyable stay at this small country hotel in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
9.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
259 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
21.8 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearton Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearton Country Hotel

Address: Low Row, Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Swaledale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing