We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made biscuits”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swaledale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kearton Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stopped for a pot of tea and a scone for my wife half way through a walk. Received delicious home made ginger parkins with the tea. Just the job! Menu looks good; would like to stay here one day as location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Kearton Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

thank you for another nice stay 1st and 2nd of november at the kearton the hospitality and service were as usual very good we enjoyed our stay and will be back to see you in the near future .
graham and sheila norris

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigg1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Once again we have had a short break at the Kearton, and once again it was excellent.
Great company from owners and staff, fabulous food coupled with peace and quiet, who could ask for more. I fail to see how anyone can find fault with the Kearton, see you all again at the end of November.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wethreenortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As regular guests at the Kearton we were amazed to read the "Faulty Towers" comments on trip advisor. We have always found the rooms and bathrooms to be spotlessly clean, the food and drink excellent and the service friendly and helpful. The reference to a lack of organisation, integrity and manners is completely contrary to our experience at this hotel.
We are looking forward to our stay at Christmas which will be our fifth visit in 2013.
Mike & Diane

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here on our coast to coast walk. Looked great from the outside, but once inside it was a bit of a let down. Very functional, and everything was clean, but nothing remarkable either. Breakfast in the morning was ok, but not up to the standards of some of the other B&Bs we stayed at. felt it could have been more than it was....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed one night - walking the Pennine Way. This hotel is a gem - excellent beer and food, comfortable modern rooms and friendly, slightly eccentric but very genuine non-stuffy service.
Friendly welcome when we arrived and good tea and coffee. The menu range and delivered quality of the evening meal was excellent and the timing was just right - in a place like this the evening meal is the main event so you don't want to rush! Equally breakfast the next morning was of far better quality than some other hotels - they clearly don't skimp on the quality of bacon, sausages etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

stayed here for 1 night dinner, bed breakfast. Found it to be very clean with good service. The quality of food was well above average with good choice on menu. Comfortably furnished, the stay here was most enjoyable. Very quiet no passing traffic noticed during the night.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bikeriderneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
4.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.3 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
22.3 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearton Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearton Country Hotel

Address: Low Row, Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Swaledale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing