We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The majesty of Swaledale”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swaledale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kearton Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband's parents lived in Swaledale in the 1980'sand 1990's and Kearton Guest house as it was then, was a well loved and respected place. Under it's present owners it has been upgraded and modernised and is an excellent place to stay to enjoy the majesty of Swaledale. The room was clean, and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the service was friendly. It is a place we have the fondest of memories of and we would be privileged to return to in the coming years. Thank-you Paul for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Only slept in one room and that was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We called at this small hotel over a year ago, and had afternoon tea & cake, meaning to visit again and stay overnight. Finally this weekend we made it, taking my Dad too for his birthday. The dinner bed & breakfast rate is a good deal, and no single supplement charge for my Dad's twin bedded room. The evening meal was very good, nice tasty well presented food, and a good atmosphere in the dining room as all guests are served at the same time. Breakfast also good, not a vast choice, but plenty to eat - we even got scrambled egg with no problem (see previous comments).
The bedrooms are comfortable, and well equipped.
All in all a great spot for walks on the doorstep, and a nice quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TTFNUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I HAD to review this wonderful tea shop. So perhaps you will add it to the tripadvisor site?
We were camping near Kirkby Stephen, and after a visit to Hawes (no parking spaces) on a rainy day we NEEDED a coffee. And as we passed through Thwaite we saw the sign.. in fact we parked in front of it!
The tea and coffee were excellent - not expensive - and the lady who served us said "I'll bring you some biscuits". We expected the usual "2 in a packet" but three large home made biscuits came on a plate. Although there were a few other customers and she was busy the waitress made time to ask if everything was ok. This is now on our list to visit when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My sister, mum and I came for a long weekend at the Kearton Arms, and really enjoyed staying there. It's well situated for the top end of the Dales and not far from the Lakes. A good location for walkers, and loads of paths go nearby including the Pennine Way. Very easy for us to get to from W. Yorks. The staff were great, very friendly and top marks go to the lady who seemed to be a jack of all trades, from manning the bar, to serving meals and doing the cleaning and laundry! She always had a smile! Good parking and a great view from the back of the pub. The food was very good, with a good range for all tastes and well presented. The rooms were adequate and had everything you'd want, including masses of hot water. I have a bad back and found the mattress and pillows too firm and uncomfortable, but this shouldn't be a problem for most people. I should think it's a lovely place to be in the winter as it's cosy and welcoming, and it would be nice to go back! The rate we were charged for 3 nights dinner, B&B was great value, and I'd recommend the Kearton Arms to anyone who wanted a good value break in a lovely area!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sarahgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A great place to stay to explore the Dales. Nicely run operation that exactly suits its surroundings. It is a guest house, bar, restaurant and tearoom all rolled into one.
Bar is small but welcoming. Lounge is clean, comfortable and well furnished. Dining room has views onto the dales. My room is fairly basic, but is again clean and cosy with all usual amenities and reasonable shower room.
Dinner was truly excellent, quality ingredients, and v well prepared and served.
Dinner, b&b rate was also good value.
Helpful owner and staff, who very willingly stored our bikes in secure rear shed overnight.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Kearton has recently undergone a change of ownership, this for me has gone very well and I believe the Kearton has in the past, is now and will remain a first choice venue for any stay in Swaledale or the general area of the North Yorkshire dales. I wish every success to the new owners and their staff. There have been changes to the menu, but the quality has remained the same high standards, with plenty of tasty choices. The family running it have kept the same quality service and the cleanliness of the rooms not only public but the bedrooms as well as the general ambiance of the hotel continues to be of a high standard. If you are staying anywhere in the area, you can call for lunch, coffee or snacks. I would probably call in advance simply that on one occasion in 2013 the hotel was completely full of lunch time guests, so it does get popular.

The key to the hotel and Thwaite is the small ish (about 12 rooms) size family run hotel with great staff that are never flustered and always pleased to see their clients, the buildings go back probably 400 years and the rooms reflect, with low sash windows, a small patio to the front, ideally positioned for the view of all the cars this past Sunday of the veteran motor cars, motorbikes and other vehicles on the beamish rally.

From the Kearton there are many locations to visit as well as easy and more demanding walks for all ages. For photographers there is the field barns on the doorstep, the 400 year old village buildings as well as the waterfalls at Keld. Will certainly stay again hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: If you must have a bath in your room ask the owner, some rooms are shower only. Mobile phone coverag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Difficult to believe the negative reviews. Just had three lovely nights here. Everything really was perfect. Food and service excellent. Very friendly. Comfortable room. Great views. What more could you want!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
9.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
286 reviews
22.3 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
7 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
232 reviews
4.3 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearton Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearton Country Hotel

Address: Low Row, Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Swaledale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaledale
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing