We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Tan Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swaledale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tan Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Swaledale B&B and Inns
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We visited the Tan Hill Inn 24 years ago being as it was the highest Inn in England and wasn't taken with it - more like a bikers café. So having read in the national press a few months ago how it had been taken over and was on the up decided to visit once more. We visited on a lovely hot Saturday afternoon. Again we were disappointed, the actual Inn looks to have been renovated a bit but nothing exceptional, was heaving with Bikers and surrounded by tents where the main entertainment appeared to come out of beer cans. The beer in the pub was fine but served in plastic glasses. Won't return in a hurry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    184
    88
    65
    101
See reviews for
135
267
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Set in the most beautiful countryside with breathtaking vista. However, what a disappointment, Tan hill was shabby and dated. The bedroom booked was dirty, bedding smelt as if it had not been washed properly, the pillows were worn out. The bedroom floor was dirty so we requested that it should be cleaned. However, we were given a mop and bucket to clean it ourselves! Unable to sleep at night due to kitchen extractor fans working all night: complained but nothing was done about it. The bedroom was hot, stuffy and airless as window could only be opened a very small amount.
The bathroom again was very dirty with used plasters, shampoo bottles, hair, etcetera left in the shower tray. The shower head was broken and fell off whilst using it. Once again we requested the area to be clean which was carried out by a member of staff.
There was a sign that refurbishment is in progress but it was apparent this is not the case.Perhaps this was an excuse for the shabby decor. The manager appeared unhelpful and gave the impression he was not interested in our custom or complaints.
To sum up, we would not stay at Tan Hill again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swaledale hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stunning location, however the pub is dowdy and dirty, needs a complete makeover. Staff were very unhelpful and had no charm, espically the manager!!! All very disgraceful and disjusting. The bedding was dirty and unkempt and very smelly the room was not cleaned while we stayed there. We was also given our own mop bucket to clean our disjusting room due to the dirty floor. We had to ask three times to clean out the shower room which was falling apart, again disjusting and dirty espically the flooring ,bath, well just everything!!! The shower was falling apart and everything was shabby. What a dump, no air in the bunk room and we were awake all night due to the sound of the extrator fan from the kitchen. The sign for refurbishment is still there a joke!! My advice do not bother just enjoy the views.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 65april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Been to Tan Hill many times over the years. Always enjoyed it immensely.
Called again July 11 while on the Pennine Way.
Pub and Grub were both well up to scratch.
However, the Campsite was another matter
The Campsite is, in fact, a patch of waste ground at one side of the pub.
There is very little flat ground and finding a good pitch is difficult.
At one time it cost £1 per person to camp which was fair considering how little was on offer
It now costs £6 per person and there is a paperwork to complete before pitching.
This is obviously a ploy to try to justify the hike in price.
Facilities are primitive. On lavatory and that's your lot
When I was there it was dirty, no toilet paper, no soap, no hand drying facilities and no evidence of any routine maintenance.
The waste bin was overflowing and overall ambience was more third world than UK 2014.
Pennine campers are not a fussy crowd but bare minimum standards are expected.
Tan Hill meets none of these and is in my experience the worst campsite on the entire Pennine Way
Bruce Ware.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ponzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stunning location, but the pub itself isn't anything special. It's dowdy & in need of a makeover.
Staff have never been to charm school either, they seem to think they are doing you a favour just for serving you. I wasn't joking about being the highest price pub either! I paid £3.40 for a pint of real ale - which didn't taste anything special. I would expect to pay £2.50 max for a pub of this ilk.
Food, such as it is, is obscenely expensive.
Go there for the view. Go there to have a photo taken at Britains highest pub, but don't bother dining or drinking. You'll do much better on the main road below.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We came out of our way to visit after an amazing first experience three years before. I wish we stuck with the memories as the manager was rude and offensive. KL. what a shame. All other staff were friendly, courteous and professional.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at The Tan Hill Inn on the second night of our W2W coast to coast cycle ride - the inn is on and at the top of the route. The staff were friendly and found us secure storage for our bikes. Two of us shared a twin room which was cramped and a bit shabby. We had arrived wet and there was insufficient space to air our damp clothes. The en-suite bathroom was also very small although the shower worked well. There was a sign in the hallway saying that refurbishment was in progress so this may have explained the shabbiness but not the size of the room. Both our evening meal and the next day's breakfast were very good.

So overall a bit of a mixed bag. Compared to the other accommodation we stayed in on our cycle, this offered the poorest value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBoulby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
9.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
9.9 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
6.8 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#47 of 192 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
376 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Swaledale
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hill Inn

Property: Tan Hill Inn
Address: The Causeway Tan Hill | Overlooking Teesdale, Reeth, Richmond, Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Swaledale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Swaledale
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tan hill inn is the UKs Highest Inn , standing 1732ft ASL, in an extremely isolated windy spot, where the fire inside welcomes the guest that visit us, Staff at Tan Hill Inn are ready to serve you perfect Ale and Homemade food. Please take the time to fill in one of our in house questionnaires as in 2015 we are actively researching customer feed back in house, or speak to Viv or Steve personally before you leave :-) We have a barn for hire for weddings, parties, and rally's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tan Hill Hotel Low Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing