We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Punch Bowl Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Swaledale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stopped for Sunday lunch a couple of weeks ago. Had the carvery, good selection of meat, nice veg but mash potato a bit of a let down ( 1 slice or 2?) at £12 a bit pricey too. They need to remember they're in yorkshire and stop charging southern prices. We like value for money up here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    75
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
186
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the moment you arrive and see the views you know you are in for a treat! This hotel is situated in such a glorious part of England. We stayed for 3 nights and so wished it was for longer! We paid a bit extra to stay in an upgraded room so had a beautiful view from our window across the Dales. It was a beautiful room with a 4 poster bed -very comfortable too. Very roomy bathroom with walk-in shower (no bath) - this is what we wanted. If you want a bath make sure you ask.
Breakfasts were very tasty - all you could ask for: full English, smoked salmon, kippers and all the usual toasts cereal etc. The bread is homemade as are the shortbread biscuits in the room on the hospitality tray. I image the jams and marmalades were as well but forgot to ask.
Evening meals were yummy too! Some people have said it is a bit expensive but you get what you pay for and we felt it was well worth it. Tuesday was steak night - see photo! £11.95 each and 1st drinks half price so a really good deal. All the staff at the Puch Bowl were very friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned to perfection and towels changed every day.
There is just so much to see and do in the area it is impossible to mention everything but surfice to say you won't have time to do it all! Also do as we did and ignore the satnav and go off the beaten track you will see even more amazing scenery. We quite by mistake ended up on the Buttertubs Pass - hairy driving in places but not to be missed!!
Thank you to everyone and can't wait to come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a fantastic view. Room 1 is large with walk in shower - worth paying a but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPPYLASS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a lovely family meal for 9 and everything was perfect. Wonderful food, great service and superb ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful guiding the choice of dinner when asked for help and coping with the high spirits of the evening. Good value flavoursome food . Although we did not stay over i would love to come back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for one night, 8th August. My wife booked a nights B&B through Groupon for this hotel. We upgraded the room, it was a lovely room with a spacious shower room.
The staff were very welcoming and very helpful.
Would recommend this to anyone wanting a break in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at The Pinch Bowl Inn using a Groupon voucher.
The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, the room was excellent with a really good shower.

Food was first class with a wide choice for breakfast and evening meal, we ate there on all 3 evenings.

The Punch Bowl is well placed to explore the Yorkshire Dales with a wonderful view from the front terrace, we will certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Room 9 is large and looks out to the side of the building, very comfortable bed, on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guisborough
Level Contributor
308 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on a Groupon deal for £49 for a double room with breakfast. The deal also included a glass of Kir Royale each and a Belgian chocolate strawberry- gorgeous! The setting, the staff, the room, the food were all fantastic. We had an evening meal which was freshly cooked and delicious and good value. We will definitely go back if staying in the area again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Couple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Groupon, paid to upgrade to a superior room and it was fantastic.
Would have spent hours in the shower if the area wasn't so beautiful!
Fantastic location.
We went into reeth to eat as several pubs there but the breakfast was outstanding.
Not one complaint, the bed was so comfortable, the room clean, the staff really friendly and helpful.
Just wish we'd stayed longer. And fantastic roads for a bike trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaledale
3.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
8.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#38 of 207 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.7 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Property: The Punch Bowl Inn
Address: Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Swaledale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Swaledale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century inn, located in Low Row, Swaledale. Ideal base for walking and touring the northern dales. The coast to coast walk is on our doorstep. Re-opened in 2006, we offer 11 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Stripped pine furnish the bar and restaurant. Our mirror menu changes daily reflecting the seasonal local produce from dales suppliers. A relaxed and informal environment in which to enjoy good food served along with local beers such as Black Sheep and Theakstons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing