We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another anniversary!”
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another anniversary!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Always attempt to find somewhere special,not disappointed for our fifty-fourth! .
Excellent menu ,shared a starter,and produced an off the menu, smaller steak for my wife.
My choice of Steak, accompanied by shredded fried onions, saute and chipped potatoes were all cooked to perfection.
Regret, our now smaller appetites did not allow us to enjoy the interesting sweet menu,but coffee
and mints ended, yet another memorable wedding anniversary,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    16
    11
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really very enjoyable”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a bike trip out and stopped for dinner, the place was very traditional and to my tastes, very welcoming. I had not appreciated that it was anything more than run of the mill pub-grub.
It was in fact a great menu that, while not inexpensive, allowed us to choose a tasty lamb shank, a delicious slow roast belly pork and for myself one of the nicest fillet steaks I have had in a long while-generous in size and flavoursome, it was cooked to perfection.
I abstained from dessert but my companions enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding and the rhubarb crumble.
Exiting the restaurant to the bar area, we found that there were plenty of customers who had turned up for the Wednesday quiz night.
Lovely surroundings and a pleasure to experience the quality of food and service.
We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent b&b and food.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is an excellent place to stay and dine. Lovely hanging baskets greet you on the way to pub from car park. It is a champagne themed hostelry(lots of champagnes on their wine list) but they happily serve beer as well.Rooms are champagne themed as well - we stayed in the Veuve-Cliquot room which featured a number of bottles (all empty !) and posters of champagne. Spotless and very comfortable. Really good and very clean looking cooked breakfast and the melon with fruits as a starter is superb. Dinner is from a limited menu but the food is magnificent - duck salad and the lamb shank main were terrific. Salmon and the chicken also equally tasty.
Not cheap but you get what you pay for and here you get quality on a plate.
Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You must try this place!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There are 10 of us girls that eat out once a month and this is our ultimate place to eat! The food, the service and total experience is of the highest standard. Cannot wait to go again...oh and the sticky toffee pudding is to die for!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arrogant Landlord”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Food wasn't as good as I expected, I paid a lo and landlord was very arrogant and too big for his boots. He needs to understand that he can't think he's too superior to anyone else, because the fact is he isn't. Treat your customers with respect and give them good food and the fact is they'll probably come back. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Sledmere, Driffield
West Heslerton, Malton
 
York, North Yorkshire
Wold Newton, Driffield
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing