We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Holiday Inn near the motorway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Above average Holiday Inn near the motorway”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here with a group of friends for the weekend. Checked in Saturday afternoon until Sunday afternoon. Check-in was nice and easy. The room was surprisingly good. Had a nice sliding wooden panel instead of curtains and was pretty modern. Nice double bed and a selection of soft and harder pillows. Couldn't fault the room and was quiet at night.

The hotel had a small pool and gym. Used the pool which was nice. Chlorine was a little strong.

Bar area was in the hotel lobby. Staff were friendly enough, but all fairly young and customer service very low priority! Bar food and drinks were served very slowly. And there was a 10% service charge on food orders at the bar! Not good!

Now my pet hate. Expensive wifi! Very expensive wifi and not even free in the hotel lobby! Made worse by the fact that Vodafone is poor in the area so basically no comma the who weekend.

Evening meal in the hotel was fine. Food good and average service.

Breakfast again average, self-service affair. Not great service here. Only one or two people waiting tables. Had to ask for ketchup which took ages to arrive.

In a nutshell would be a much better hotel if (1) they had better staff (2) free wifi (3) didn't take the mickey with service charges.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren_in_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    162
    82
    32
    36
See reviews for
116
90
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Firstly the good points - there is a small gym and a pool that is usually quiet. Both are free for residents.

The location is also good if you want to break a journey up - it's only a minute's drive to the M1.

As we were travelling with two children we booked an executive room, this was actually no bigger than the standard room that friends were staying in. The 'extras' you get in an executive room are a chocolate bar and a sachet of hot chocolate on the day you check in, plus a small bottle of shampoo and a small bottle of shower gel. The bath robes that the website promises were not actually in the room. Executive rooms are therefore definitely not worth the extra expense.

Housekeeping had not provided us with any bedding for our sofa bed or for our cot, so we had to ask for that and wait a long time for it to arrive. Our room was adequate, reasonably clean, but for some reason had a set of broken weighing scales in the bathroom. The window was small, making the room a little dark, and the curtains actually hid a wall and window, not just a window.

We booked a rate that included dinner and breakfast. Dinner was standard pub grub served by young waiters who didn't seem to know the menu.

Unfortunately, service at breakfast time was a joke. Management seem to think that having a self-service buffet will mean that guests will need no service whatsoever and that they can economise by having a couple of sullen teenagers as their waiting staff. This approach would work if everything guests might have needed was on the counter, but unfortunately it wasn't.

Among the problems with breakfast were - no staff upon arrival at the restaurant, no tea or coffee within sight, no cutlery or cups on tables, lots of uncleared tables, no plates on the counter for selecting your own hot food, empty fruit bowls that were not replenished quickly, waitresses who would creep up behind you and take your plates away while you were still eating, and, in general, a rotten customer service attitude from the waiting staff. For example we asked for a glass of water for my son because the jug at the buffet was empty. The waitress tutted, walked into the kitchen, brought the water bag and put it back on the counter without saying a word.

It's a shame the service is so charmless because the food is ok - standard big chain breakfast food.

I hope the management employ some older staff, and give them some training so that they can see things from the guests point of view, rather than the current mentality of seeing the act of serving guests as an inconvenience.

One final point, make sure your print out your booking information, especially if it shows that meals are included in the rate you have selected. On three occasions during our stay I saw check-in staff try to charge guests for meals that were included in the room rate they had chosen.

Room Tip: Lower your service expectations before breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin9837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUGNH, Manager at Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Firstly please allow me to apologise for any short comings experienced. It is always personally disappointing when a guest leaves with an impression, which i believe is not indicative of our normal service levels and communication. At the Holiday Inn Rugby / Northampton M1 Jct.18 we always follow up on any feedback received about the hotel. I would very much like to investigate these matters further, please do not hesitate upon contacting myself regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crick hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I'm always amazed when I travel how hotels who should know better try and be something they are not. Here's a Holiday Inn wanting to be more upmarket. It has a pool and fitness centre. The pool area was clean but the pool was very murky and quite chlorinated.
The room was adequate, the facilities for the seminar I was delivering was good but the food was very ordinary.

It was like school dinners meets masterchef. Attempted to deliver high brow food with the wrong ingredients.

I ordered a greek salad and it was really very poor, I couldn't finish it. It wasn't that the food wasn't fresh - it was, it was just a poor choice of ingredients. Instead of cherry or plum tomatoes, standard sliced English tomatoes use. Just cos lettuce not other leaves, average feta. Not pleasant.

The food on our set deal was average to say the least. The delegates that were being trained were pretty non plussed about it and I believe that they complained.

From a business suite point of view the girl was very helpful and the facilities were good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrcellular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Rooms - look good at first but do look a bit shabby on closer inspection.

Food - a decent choice that is always well presented. Pricey but they know that it's for people on business expenses.

Staff - always seem a bit serious when dealing with you! A few more smiles would be good!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Good quality accommodation close to Jct 18 of the M1 making it an ideal stopover location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Had our Christmas party 10th December 2010 - had a really good night. Food was lovely - and piping hot, and the disco was brilliant. Good sized room.

We all had a really good evening, many thanks to all the staff at the Holiday Inn in Crick.

We'll be booking for Christmas 2011!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Good professionally run hotel. Small gym and pool for guest use which were busy at peak times. Large bar area, full of business folk during the day but very quiet at weekends.
Just one warning, there is a bit of a rip off going on. The room service menue is £1 extra compared to the identical bar menu, and they add a £2 tray charge. Not good, not clever. Lack of free wifi in a business hotel also a major disadvantage.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crick
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Watford Gap
Days Inn Watford Gap
#1 of 1 in Watford
102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
5.4 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton

Property: Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Address: 18 M1, Jct, Crick NN6 7XR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Crick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds on the outskirts of historic Rugby in Crick, the Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton is a spacious, elegant hotel. Its easy to reach just off the M1/J18. The Holiday Inn Hotel has 90 rooms with High Speed Internet Access and air conditioning; 2 are equipped for special needs and 13 Meeting Rooms. Relax in the hotel lounge and bar and dine here and in the cosmopolitan hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton Hotel Crick
Holiday Inn Crick
Crick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing