We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Crick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Had the burger for lunch and it was superb, really well cooked and very tasty. Nice location and very friendly and helpful staff and had a really nice meal, will definitely return when next in the area and recommend the location for others !

Helpful?
1 Thank Braddersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    65
    24
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went to the Wheatsheaf for a business lunch , first time with the current owners. Menu was really interesting and we settled for a couple of salads. The food was great will certainly visit again. Service was attentive , staff were very helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafCrick, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Wheatsheaf as a venue for your business lunch.

I'm pleased to hear the food and service met your expectations.

I hope you will visit us again soon; if you have any specific requirements for your business visits, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We used this place as our meeting point with family members on our way to London and we weren't disappointed.
The staff were so friendly and polite and the food was gorgeous and reasonably priced.
Would definitely visit again if we needed a meeting point again in the future.
Just note, it doesn't have disabled toilets.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafCrick, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Wheatsheaf with your family, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Second time, just as good”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Second time here in about 4 months. Some lovely ales, I had a pint of Pirate, which was dark, slightly bitter, but very malty and tasted good. Then had a pint of Booze Hound and half a pint of 4.2, both of which were equally nice. The wife had 1 Chardonnay (guess who was driving!), but she liked hers too.
For mains , she had a ploughmans and I had the beef burger with bacon & cheese on top. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. My only minor niggle would be more chips please, cos they tasted so good and there could have done with being just a few more on the plate! We then had dessert, I had the toffee pudding & rum & raisin ice cream and wife had the Raspberry Pavlova. These were quickly demolished!
Service was quick and friendly. We're glad to hear that they are renovating the restaurant part, (we ate in the pub part for lunch), as it does look a bit dark & depressing and doesn't do such a great pub any favours at all. Indeed, we'll be back as a family for a meal in there soon as the works complete.

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafCrick, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review Alan.
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the food, drink and service during your lunchtime visit to The Wheatsheaf. Those tasty 'Sheaf chips are a homemade speciality of the chef - next time you're in just let us know and we'll sneak a few extra on your plate!
Keep an eye on our website and Facebook page to see how the refit is progressing, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Ate here recently with some work colleagues, very good standard of food and excellent service by attentive staff who can relate to their customers and clearly go the extra mile to ensure proper customer service. The owner when discovering the limited availability of taxis in the area, also ensured we got back to our local hotel. I had not been in the pub for a few years, what a decent place, definitely go back and would recommend to all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJDJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafCrick, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm pleased to hear that our food and service met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.
With the lack of taxi firms nearby, any time you need a local lift to The Wheatsheaf for dinner (and back again!), just give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Crick, Northamptonshire
Crick, Northamptonshire
 
West Haddon, Northamptonshire
Long Buckby, Northamptonshire
 
Kilsby, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing