We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Coffee in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hideout

The Hideout
Ranked #33 of 65 Restaurants in Daventry
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our building is a Grade II Listed Building, so has lots of character. Its a very friendly and relaxed environment. Come in for a quick cuppa or spend the afternoon catching up with friends and family.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Hideout is a small Family run café in Daventry. Lovely warm Friendly atmosphere and excellent service. Well worth a visit. Nice menu and the best coffee in town!.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehideoutcoffeeshop, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Mike, thanks for the awesome review. Glad you love our coffee, we do too. Look forward to seeing you again soon, for another coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great café for the younger generation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff and good is amazing value! The hideout has the largest selection of milkshakes, flavoured coffees and of course bubble tea! Very popular with younger people, as well as the older generation!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehideoutcoffeeshop, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks Leanne for the great review. We always strive to offer the best we can. The Milkshakes we keep adding new flavours and chocolate bars to see what kids reactions are.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ghastly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Awful food, coffee great, staff helpful and attentive and the cafe itself, located at the top of Sheaf Street is clean and attractive but I wouldn't recommend the breakfast at all

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rilleytherag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehideoutcoffeeshop, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for your second review since the first was removed.

Lets look at your review, Great Coffee, Staff Helpful & Attentive & Cafe itself is clean and Attractive…
But you rate the Atmosphere, Service & Value at 1….

You wouldn't recommend the Breakfast, thats great because we don't do breakfasts...

Visited April 2014
1 of 5 stars Value
1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
1 of 5 stars Service
1 of 5 stars Food

Looking at the 5 reviews you have done in Daventry, 4 you have rated badly.
People look at reviews to make their mind up on whether to visit us or not. I think this review again like the last is not helpful at all.
But thanks anyway for taking the time to leave another feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fab cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely cafe with an array of drinks to make your mind boggle, I've not yet eaten here but have been told the food is really good. Constantly coming up with new concepts and the owners are so helpful and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehideoutcoffeeshop, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Much appreciated for your review, always great to receive positive feedback.

Always trying to improve our drinks menu, and food menu is always being spiced up when we can.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice for a drink but very disapointed with the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've been here for dinks a few times which have always been ok, can't fault the choice of milkshakes.

However i was very disapointed with the breakfasts, the backon was horrible, no idea how it was cooked but seemed like it must have been reheated or microwaved.

The only plus point was they did have gluten free bread available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RallyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehideoutcoffeeshop, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Chris, thanks for your review even if it was a disappointing one.
We do our Bacon every morning fresh using our Convector Oven, as we don't fry anything we serve.
The problem with Bacon is that everyone likes it different, some like it with the rind on, some like it well done, others like it in the middle….
Because its done in the convector oven then we cannot do it in every way, so we tend to do it in the middle…then if people want it crispy then we finish it off under the grill…
Sorry again if you were not happy with your bacon, but hope the above explains how we cook ours…
Have a great Sunday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideout also viewed

Daventry, Northamptonshire
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 
Daventry, Northamptonshire
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 
Daventry, Northamptonshire
Daventry, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Hideout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing