We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night”

Maria's Kitchen at The Romer Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: May just be listed as Romer Arms not The Romer Arms
daventry
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great night”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Quiet pub in Newnham, near daventry. Well worth a visit. Car parking available.Very nice family business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mojomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worthy of more local support”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This pub is much improved from a few years ago and the landlord/lady deserve more local support if it is to stay open - perhaps the shop next door re-opening might help. We have been a few times for lunch over recent months and there is a very welcoming feel, the food is good and they have newspapers to read. Just a shame that there are so few customers. And the music is quiet - not in your face.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“"Great little Gem"”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were taken to this pub by a local person and what a great little gem it was.
as we walked in I could hear music in the background it was ukulele about 20 of them practicing in the back room.
The food was excellent, I had the moo pie ( see pic) what a tastie treat.
And in the other bar a full size skittles game was set up,we were invited to have a go by the Very freindly couple that run the pub.
We will definitely return soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Attended a wake here as family lived in the village. The bar staff were very slow and miserable. The food was paid for but as we like to eat out a lot, I took a sneaky peak at the menu. Food seems very expensive for a pub which is off the beaten track and would not attract passing trade. Think they are going to price themselves out of the market and won't be going back here in a hurry!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Proper pub grub in a proper pub!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Enjoyed a meal and a few pints. Made to feel welcome and the pub was clean and cosy. Good food, hot and well presented. Will come again spon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooner6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria's Kitchen at The Romer Arms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing